We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Summit Place Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 40 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Brilliant”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

A real gem. Fantastic view, food, service, staff and facilities. The manager and owner, Neil, went out of his way to accommodate our group, personally supervising the meals and making sure all our needs we're taken care of. Real down to earth hospitality!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 729David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Lesley. Thank you for your kind review. We were glad you enjoyed all the different rooms you stayed in. thank you for being flexible too! We were also glad to be of assistance at a time of temporary adversity in your life. Take Care. Lou, Tendi,Neil Wendy and the Summiteers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    52
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
87
20
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We recently returned from a weekend at Stellenbosch and spent 3 wonderful days at this 4 star establishment. Rooms were neat, airy and comfortable. Checking in was completed by the welcoming and pleasant Louisa, who ensured our little girl was comfortable with her own mattress. The gardens are beautifully maintained, with a small jungle gym for kids and a trampoline. A well-kept swimming pool was also very inviting. Breakfasts were very good, in a serene environment with lovely views of the mountains. The self-catering unit was well equipped and provided a braai stand as well. This is lovely place to stay if you value peace and quiet, and a great location close to many local attractions. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to visiting again 
Regards, Donovan & Arlene

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Donovan_112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Donovan and Arlene. Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Summit. We really hope you come back some day! Tendi, Lou, Neil Wendy and the Summiteers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We spent 28 nights staying at Summit Place when visiting our daughter and family, who live nearby in Wynberg.
The quality of the accommodation and the wonderful breakfasts that were served in the dining room with glorious mountain views were second to none.
Summit place is set in a very convenient location which is ideal for exploring Cape Town and the suburbs including the Cape peninsula and the Winelands . But on top of this, the friendliness, advice and help given by Tendie and Louisa made for a warm welcome and a wonderful stay. Nothing was too much trouble and our two year old granddaughter Hazel, was also made very welcome . We felt completely at home here and it was a very relaxing and pleasant stay for us.
The staff that cleaned our accommodation daily were lovely as well.
Previously , we have always stayed in hotels, but definitely preferred staying at Summit Place and will hopefully stay there again when we return next year
Thank you
Judy and Bob

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Judy and Bob.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your lengthy stay with us! Thank you for your kind comments. We do hope you will come again. Take Care. Neil, Wendy, Tendi, Lou and the Summiteers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Summit Place is just awesome. It's tranquil and has the best views of Cape Town. It's easy to find and the staff is awesome, always there to help but at the same time giving enough privacy. I love staying there every time that I am in Cape Town because it's so homely. The rooms are big and spacious. I recommend it to any business or leisure traveler. Everything you could possibly need is there that's why it just feels like home. And I love taking pictures and Tendai(staff member) was always there to joyfully click away. Summit Place in one word: Awesome!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Manager at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Nozipho

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such wonderful praise. Tends guarantees professional photography services in the future of course! The Summiteers look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip and again thanks so much for your review. Till next time...... Neil, Wendy, Tends and the crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were received like "old friends" & escorted to our beautifully decorated, very well appointed suite. The hospitality was exceptional - friendly without being familiar, professional on every level and any request was enthusiastically & immediately attended to. The majestic home is set in beautifully landscaped gardens, a soft trickling, elegant water-feature is audible from all vantage points, offering peace & tranquillity, prolific bird life and unparalelled views of surrounding mountians. Heated towel rails, fluffy warm bathrobes and chocolates on the pillows exemplify the "attention to detail" ethos. Highly recommended, perfectly situated for both business or pleasure and well worth every minute spent at this little piece of heaven on earth!

Room Tip: All the rooms offer uninterrupted views that are just breathtaking and all appear to be equally well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Deidre. Thank you for your extremely kind words. It was a privilege hosting you both. You know where we are. Please come again and visit us in the beautiful Cape. Neil Wendy, Tendi and the Summiteers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Summit Place Guesthouse is a perfect launch pad for seeing the best of Cape Town. Located in the oldest wine region in the Cape (Constantia) there are beautiful wineries and a great golf course a few minutes around the corner. It is a short drive into the city and the staff were just lovely. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAIH1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Bruce. Many thanks for the review. We are central indeed! Many folk don't realise that! You know where we are and we look forward to seeing you in Cape Town sooner than later. Go well. Neil, Wendy, Tendi, Lou and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2013

From the outset everything was very positive. Booking was easy with great rates, when we arrived the owner was on hand to greet us and made us feel very welcome. Beautiful rooms and perfect location with a stunning view of table mountain. Would definitely recommend! A fantastic way to stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanH1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Sean. Thank you for your review. We are glad your time with us was great. Please come again! Hopefully next time you will be on Rugby tour! Neil, Wendy, Tendi and Lou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Constantia hotels
2.5 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
493 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
412 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Last Word Constantia
The Last Word Constantia
#3 of 5 in Constantia
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
0.5 mi away
Dongola Guest House
Dongola Guest House
#1 of 40 in Constantia
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Place Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Place Guesthouse

Property: Summit Place Guesthouse
Address: 15 Summit Road | Constantia Valley, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Summit Place Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Place has both Bed and Breakfast rooms and self-catering apartments. All rooms are well appointed, light and airy, with en-suite bathrooms. They also have large cupboards, a safe, free unlimited WiFi, and a variety of satellite channels on a flat screen TV. The self-catering apartments have well equipped kitchens with a fridge, microwave, oven, stove and all utensils and crockery. All rooms and apartments are stocked with complimentary teas and coffees. The rooms and suites of the Summit Place Guest House border its central pool, and are surrounded by green gardens. Guests are treated to breakfast on our patio which has an awesome mountain view. Guests can enjoy day trips to discover the history of South Africa's oldest wine-growing region. Various nature trails and picturesque scenery are nearby. Both the Cape Town city centre and International Airport are less than 20 km away. All guests get free off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Summit Place Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Cape Town
Cape Town Summit
Summit Place Guesthouse Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing