We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountains, trees, greenery, security and tranquility in Constantia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Summit Place Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 40 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mountains, trees, greenery, security and tranquility in Constantia”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We made our booking via Expedia in the UK on the basis of their web description.

The heading of this review tells it all. As another review says, the area as you drive in is somewhat austere but as you walk up the steps into the reception area, a new world opens up! The reception area is also a sitting room with comfortable chairs and books to browse, but your eyes are taken on to the dining area which overlooks the pool, around which some of the bedrooms are set. The dining area has a fully glazed wall made of retracting sections. We sat for breakfast each morning with the gentle air moving round our legs and the sun cutting sharp shadows on the pool surround and the shrubs alongside it.

There was a mix-up with our booking which was quickly resolved. We were in a Grand Terrace Suite which was spacious and well presented with a full kitchen leading off the main room and a bathroom with shower. We were well pleased.

The room rates do not include breakfast. By arrangement one can have breakfast which we did and the bowl of fruit you could die for even by South African standards.

Room Tip: Pool side master suite if available
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    52
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
87
20
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We found this to be a perfect family friendly choice as our base for Cape Town - the garden and pool kept the children entertained for hours, while we had time to have a glass of wine, soaking up the scenery. The hosts were very welcoming, and our children fell in love with both the dogs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onlybananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
252 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Summit Place. When you first drove in through the gated entrance it looks kind of bleak.....painted concrete wall. Then when you go in the front door it appears you walked into a palace! The view from the entrance, across the veranda, past the immaculate pool to the mountains in the background is simply stunning. The bedroom is huge and very modern. This place is very family friendly with the pool and a large well kept up grass yard which has play ground equipment and even a trampoline.

The breakfast was lovely. The owners father-in-law even washed my very dirty car.

You simply go wrong with this B&B located at the end of a very quiet residential street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopsideMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
It was great having you both to stay and we appreciate your kind words. I think the last paragraph has a typo and is missing the word "can't" before "go wrong"!! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had a wonderful, 21-day stay at Summit Place after relocating to Cape Town with our 3-yr and 14-yr olds (from Houston, Texas). From a family point of view, the premises are beautiful and very secure. We particularly enjoyed the backyard and all the kid-friendly amenities such as the movie room, playground, pool, trampoline, water fountain (and Jackson the dog). There were families in similar situations also staying at Summit Place and we were lucky that their kids were playing with ours in a very safe environment. That, on top of the comfortable surroundings and the gracious support of the hosts Neal/Wendy made our transition a fun time to get used to South Africa hospitality. The hotel is located in a gorgeous part of Constantia and within walking distance to a vineyard and access to many trails (which the hosts offered to show us). The room was nice, clean and equipped with a complete kitchen. The staff is wonderful, especially Tendy - always ready to help, even letting our daughter borrow some DVDs from the movie room. The owners are very friendly and welcoming people, we even got to have dinner/braai with them one night! We highly recommend Summit Place to any visitors or families moving to Cape Town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi Celina
It was wonderful meeting you and hosting you at Summit as you settled into your new life in Cape Town. We do hope we will see you again now that you are settled in Constantia permanently.

regards
Neil, Wendy and the Summiteers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Very friendly staff, clean rooms with high standard. Peaceful and lovely location, not more than 15 minutes to Waaterfront. If we´re going to visit Cape Town again, this accomodation will be our
first choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjorklund_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The staff and owners were incredibly friendly and helpful making the stay very enjoyable. The rooms are beautiful, large, very clean, and with kitchen facilities. A satisfying breakfast after a run through the nearby vineyards. It would suit any type of traveller, whether holiday, or business. Exceptional.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

great place, fab staff made our holiday feel extra special would recommend summit place to everyone . hope they will make this a wedding venue :) staff made our extended family who were not staying at the guesthouse very welcome

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Constantia hotels
2.5 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
489 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
409 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
0.5 mi away
Dongola Guest House
Dongola Guest House
#1 of 40 in Constantia
437 reviews
2.5 mi away
Southern Light Country House
Southern Light Country House
#11 of 40 in Constantia
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Place Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Place Guesthouse

Property: Summit Place Guesthouse
Address: 15 Summit Road | Constantia Valley, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Summit Place Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Place has both Bed and Breakfast rooms and self-catering apartments. All rooms are well appointed, light and airy, with en-suite bathrooms. They also have large cupboards, a safe, free unlimited WiFi, and a variety of satellite channels on a flat screen TV. The self-catering apartments have well equipped kitchens with a fridge, microwave, oven, stove and all utensils and crockery. All rooms and apartments are stocked with complimentary teas and coffees. The rooms and suites of the Summit Place Guest House border its central pool, and are surrounded by green gardens. Guests are treated to breakfast on our patio which has an awesome mountain view. Guests can enjoy day trips to discover the history of South Africa's oldest wine-growing region. Various nature trails and picturesque scenery are nearby. Both the Cape Town city centre and International Airport are less than 20 km away. All guests get free off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Summit Place Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Cape Town
Cape Town Summit
Summit Place Guesthouse Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing