We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and bustling”

La Belle Bistro & Bakery
Ranked #19 of 44 Restaurants in Constantia
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Great atmosphere at La Belle with a solid menu and lots of sweet treats to choose from afterwards. Recommended!

Thank capetownmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at La Belle Bistro & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for the review.

We hope to welcome you back soon to la Belle Bistro & Bakery or perhaps join us at 5 Rooms Restaurant for our Winter Specials as they are true value for money.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 168 of 229 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

Four of us went to La Belle for supper. Atmosphere is nice, and service was good initially, but deteriorated during the evening. Having read past reviews, which mentioned problems with the pork belly, we decided that the problems would have been sorted out by now. Wrong. Two of us ordered the pork, which looked reheated, and definitely did not have crispy skin, although our waiter had promised it would. There was no sign of management, and nobody enquired how things were going, so we couldn't point it out to anybody. Very large servings, but the food can best be described as stodgy. So, if you want to fill your belly, in a pleasant atmosphere, and the food doesn't matter that much, a good place to go. But if you want something just a notch up from pub grub, there might be better alternatives.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Butch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at La Belle Bistro & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

As we strive daily to provide the very best in five star hospitality, it is disappointing to hear that on this occasion we seemed to have failed and for this I can only apologise.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Enough said! Apart from the fresh, delicious yet unpretentious food it's a beautiful spot when the weather's good to sit under the trees.

Thank Juggernaughty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at La Belle Bistro & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

We so appreciate your feedback as we strive for service excellence in all our outlets at The Alphen Boutique Hotel. Next time you visit Cape Town, please visit our 5 Rooms Restaurant and possibly enjoy our winter specials. You may also want to enjoy a night at The Alphen Boutique Hotel and make a weekend of it.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great little Bistro with wonderful ambience, very special service and good food. Lovely outdoor seating with heaters.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at La Belle Bistro & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Karen,

We are thrilled that you found our little gem in the Constantia Winelands. La Belle Bistro & Bakery is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner so hope to welcome you back to experience our 5 star hospitality soon.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Four of us dined at this Bistro - the atmosphere is great, but the wine list is very expensive for a bistro in the wine lands, with no house wines, which are typical of a good French Bistro - even up market Pot Luck has house wines. The prices for food are more in the fine dining category than a bistro. The starters were good as was the burger and salmon. But the evening was spoiled by the poor pork belly. Contrary to what we were advised it was fatty and the crackling was soggy and limp. The only crackle was a piece of pork scratching, which can be purchased in a packet at any London pub.The replacement burger arrived after the others had finished eating. The waiter and supervisor were sympathetic but unprofessional in their handling of this incident.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Terrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at La Belle Bistro & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Terrence,

Thank you for your review.

We have taken note of your feedback and will certainly focus on evaluating the concerns raised with the greatest of care as we strive daily to provide the very best in five star hospitality.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Bistro & Bakery also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 
Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to La Belle Bistro & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing