We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice indian restaurant in the constantia mall”

The Raj Indian & Sushi
Ranked #21 of 59 Restaurants in Constantia
Cuisines: Sushi, Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed March 12, 2019 via mobile

always a good recommendation when you see indian customers in their restaurant. the curry was fine - so were the buttered nams and the other dishes.
you should try to avoid a seat close to the kitchen as the place is quite busy for messengers picking up deliveries.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank udoab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 137 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2019 via mobile

We.looked at the menu and chatted to the waiter to see what was the chefs speciality. We ordered the veg breyani, dhall and paneer bhurji. For starters we had the onion pakoda. We were a bit disappointed as we ordered mild but I found the food tasteless.Our waiter was friendly and

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Sureshinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2019 via mobile

Warm and friendly service, beautifully decorated restaurant.

Tasty dishes and a wide variety to choose from.

Highly recommended.

Daily specials available.

Will not disappoint!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank JackieT1832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2019

I'm resorting to TA as I tried to contact the restaurant post collecting takeaways on Friday, unfortunately nobody answered the phone. The restaurant was busy when I collected our order, placed with a successful phone call earlier in the evening, mistakes can be made. So, why the two star review?...

I ordered three main meals, a couple of starters and two naan bread options. The order was packed incorrectly, missing a naan bread, an Aloo Paratha that barely had any potatoe at all, and the R174 Chef's special contained 4 inedible prawns and a few pieces of chicken. For a South African restaurant charging Raj prices, we expect MUCH better.

As we were collecting our meal, we bumped into friends that were about to sit down for a dine in experience, and having spoken with them over the weekend, it was just another thumbs down. Food quality wasn't as we've previously experienced and they even had to go and collect their own glasses to serve drinks.

Perhaps the restaurant just had a bad day, unfortunately it seems more like a trend given our last couple of experiences. You may read this and ask why we go back.... because you hope that things will improve and return to the standards of yesteryear.

At the moment it just seems to be a bit hit and miss, with more miss than is acceptable.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GrantS1498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2018 via mobile

Great super tasty food and excellent service. A bit on the pricey side, but large portions and very good quality. I think if they offered the option of half portions at reduced prices this place would be packed! Highly recommend either way.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank booridley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raj Indian & Sushi also viewed

 
Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to The Raj Indian & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing