We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“standards slipping”
Review of 5 Rooms Restaurant

5 Rooms Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 44 Restaurants in Constantia
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Don't Expect Traditional Fine Dining Couple the 5 separate rooms decadently designed for privacy and exclusivity, with a cosmopolitan menu with a twist. Laced in tradition and comfort, this culinary experience is one of a kind for couples and parties alike.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

we returned after a previous visit and were really looking forward to our meal. It was a very hot evening and this may have taken its toll on the staff. The greeting and service was great and my wife's food was excellent. However my fish (sole) was served completely raw actually stone cold.
I pointed this out the manager and it was quickly whisked away to be cooked. It returned later perfectly cooked .
I accept mistakes can be made but this really should never have left the kitchen had the chef been doing his job properly.
we will be back soon as we like the place so much and are prepared to put this down as a one off
I worry that others may not be so accommodating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 55howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at 5 Rooms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Howard,

Thank you so much for your care and taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We were made aware of this incident on the night and measures have been put in place to ensure that this is not repeated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our 5 Rooms Restaurant soon.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 95 of 151 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

they have put everything on the interior and not on the important things ! food and service!
We ate steak tartare and a salad . the worst we have eaten in South Africa, the chef wants but has a long way to go before they are to where they want! not once were we asked how the food tastes?
we ate meat from the summer menu, good but should be served in their bistro! ice cream tasted cheap pre-bought
so my recommendatio to the owners is swap the kitchen staff
to you out there, do not go there

Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at 5 Rooms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Patrick,

We have taken note of your feedback and will certainly focus on evaluating each point with the greatest of care. As we strive daily to provide the very best in five star hospitality. It is disappointing to hear that on this occasion we seemed to have failed and for this I can only apologise.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We live in the Constantia area and were looking for a place to celebrate our wedding anniversary. There are many places to choose but we hadnt been to 5 Rooms and wanted to give it a try. We reguslarly go to the Bistro and love the atmopshere at the Alphen.
Our experience met all expectations. The service was excellent - attentive, knowledgable, friendly, natural, easy going and not stuffy (as one often finds at fancy restaurants). The waiters are still in jeans and sneakers (Noted from a previous review), which management might consider because one does notice it ;)
The food was delicious, beautifully and tastefull presented. The atmosphere for me was fabulous. The old charm and graciousness of the Cape fully restored but modern with a touch of quirkiness too. Loved it. the individual rooms give you an atmoshere of intimacy - which we enjoyed - it being our wedding anniversary.
We had the filet - cooked to perfection. Calamari was excellent too. We had very little space left to do justice to the dessert but shared one which was rich and decadent.
I would definitely go there again. It is pricey so it would be a place for special occassions and it would rise to the occassion. I would take foreign guests here to proudly show our culture and heritage. And ihaving travelled widely - it is world class in every respect.
I think one thing I would suggest to the management - and you werent to know - but if you knew it was our anniversary, wouldnt it be nice to add a little something extra - maybe an aperatif. How would you know - well you could have asked when we made our booking - is this a special occassion. People done expect a free meal ... but even a red rose on the plate would have been the small touch that would have made me cry!! And isnt that what we want to do for our guests..
I would also recommend that when booking - try to book a room by the window. We didnt have one but with the beautiful gardens and the open window, well - this place is breathless!
Did I mention the chandeliers? Just gorgeous!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KarenOParkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at 5 Rooms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you so much for the review.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your dinner experience at our 5 Rooms Restaurant. Your fantastic feedback has been shared with our team and we have taken note of your comments with regards to the booking process.

We so look forward to welcoming you back to our 5 Rooms Restaurant soon!

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Nice respectable atmosphere, delicious cuisine, especially we liked the oysters and seafood. Lovely wine list. Service at the highest level. Definitely recommend

Thank Olga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at 5 Rooms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you so much for the review.

We so appreciate the great feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to The Alphen Boutique Hotel very soon.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Just returned from an evening at the 5 rooms, at the Alphen Hotel
Menu promises a lot, Crayfish tail , sirloin and Prawn Thermidor, chocolate & peanut fondant
All classics , prices are average , but quality is below
Execution is lacking, presentation below what should be expected
The problem 5 Rooms has it is in a filed of brilliant restaurants and it is not
Lovely setting, gardens are petty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at 5 Rooms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant.

We have taken note of your comments and have addressed these with our Management team. It is only through feedback like yours that we are able to improve our offering.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 5 Rooms Restaurant also viewed

Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to 5 Rooms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing