We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful place!”
Review of The Conservatory

The Conservatory
Ranked #9 of 44 Restaurants in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Conservatory, situated adjacent to the historic Cellars-Hohenort cellar, offers diners unparalleled garden vistas from both the sun-drenched terrace and the indoor tables. Carefully constructed around a giant 300-year-old oak tree, The Conservatory is one of Constantia's finest daily breakfast, lunch and dinner venues. Here the head chef creates hotel classics alongside modern and seasonally influenced dishes. The Conservatory menu places a great emphasis on fresh produce from both The Cellars-Hohenort gardens and local green-friendly suppliers, and this gives it the unique ability to showcase a true taste of the Constantia Valley. Friendly service and an award-winning wine list ensure that The Conservatory offers guests and locals an exceptional everyday dining experience.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The cellars hohenort is a very besutiful place in the heart of constantia, cape town. The conservatory restaurant is situated beautifully in the midst of the famous hohenort gardens. We had a lovely dinner, marvellous signature dishes and the service was excellent, very friendly. Very nice barman/sommelier as well!

Thank Featherfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton R, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Good Day

Thank you so much for your feedback about your experience at The Conservatory.

We are so glad to hear about your excellent experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Cellars Hohenort in the future.

Best Regards

Conservatory Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 181 of 233 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

There has been a reorganisation at the Cellars Hohenort in recent times and the Conservatory is part of the new dining experience at the hotel.

After some indifferent experiences at the Cellars over a period of years we gave it a miss and its nearly five years since we last visited. We read quite a few positive reviews recently so thought we would give it another go.

We went for a Sunday lunch and the experience was so good that we went again a few days later for a midweek lunch. Both experiences were very positive in particular the Sumday lunch, Yorkshire pudding is a great test and not many places get it right, happily the chef at the Conservatory came up trumps. The famous Liz Mcgrath chocolate dessert was always pretty special but they seemed to have taken it on to another level, it was sulime.

The only thing I was not impressed with was the wine list. There seems to be a growing tendancy to put huge mark up's on the price of wine, especially in tourist areas. It is a very worrying trend and I won't be alone in voting with my feet if I feel I am being taken advantage of.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank intergoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton R, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Good Day

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at The Conservatory. We appreciate your comments and really look forward to your next visit with us.

With regards to your thoughts regarding the pricing on our wine list, we will look into this and try to offer competitive pricing on all our wines to the best of our ability.

We appreciate your feedback and we will do everything we can to provide value for money, as well as an excellent dining experience all round.

Best Regards

Conservatory Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

As this restaurant is surrounded by a lovely garden, we arrived early to explore the grounds. Our dinner was great.Eventhough the meals are relatively simple, they are well portioned and very well prepared. The karoo lamb was amazing! We were happy that we ordered a desert, the croquembouche was a nice way to end our meal.

Thank florine1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton R, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Good Day

Thank you for your kind feedback on your experience at The Conservatory, we really appreciate that you enjoyed it and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards

Conservatory Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We ate dinner here on 25 Feb. We were given a lovely table and the food was superb. Service in the restaurant was fantastic, the wine very good and there was a nice touch to help us celebrate our anniversary. We had the duck and the soup to start, both of which were very good, then the lamb and the duck, both of which were excellent. Compared to UK prices at least, the value is outstanding.

The only downside was service on arrival. We weren't really 'greeted', it took a while to be asked if we'd like a drink and whilst everyone else seemed to be given olives etc to snack on, we had to specifically request before they were brought. Pretty minor stuff compared to the excellence of the meal though.

Thank LondonMike1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton R, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Good Day

Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate that you have taken the time to provide us with some constructive feedback that we can work on.

As we strive for perfection throughout, your comments regarding the welcoming experience and bar snacks have been taken constructively and we will ensure these types of issues do not happen going forward.

We are however extremely pleased that the rest of your experience was excellent and we look forward to welcoming you to the Conservatory Restaurant in the near future.

Best Regards

Conservatory Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Conservatory. As last year, we went with friends. The evening was delightful from start to end, with beautiful, unobtrusive service. Restaurant is effectively open air - on a lovely summer evening. Brilliant!

I thought the food was exceptional. Fine dining tends to be the norm on our SA trips (especially with the exchange rates at present!), so we get a lot of opportunity to compare lovely food in stunning restaurants. We thought, both last year and this, the Conservatory was among the very best, and by no means expensive. (OK - that view is relative, and I'm sure there a lot cheaper options!)

The Conservatory is a definite fixture on our annual trips for the foreseeable future!

1  Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton R, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Good Day

We are so glad to hear that you had such a great experience at The Conservatory and we appreciate your feedback.

Thanking you,

Conservatory Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Conservatory also viewed

 

Been to The Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing