We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a treat!”
Review of The Conservatory

The Conservatory
Ranked #9 of 42 Restaurants in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Conservatory, situated adjacent to the historic Cellars-Hohenort cellar, offers diners unparalleled garden vistas from both the sun-drenched terrace and the indoor tables. Carefully constructed around a giant 300-year-old oak tree, The Conservatory is one of Constantia's finest daily breakfast, lunch and dinner venues. Here the head chef creates hotel classics alongside modern and seasonally influenced dishes. The Conservatory menu places a great emphasis on fresh produce from both The Cellars-Hohenort gardens and local green-friendly suppliers, and this gives it the unique ability to showcase a true taste of the Constantia Valley. Friendly service and an award-winning wine list ensure that The Conservatory offers guests and locals an exceptional everyday dining experience.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always a treat!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Lunch at The Conservatory is one of those meals I just know I'm going to enjoy and look forward to with great anticipation.

The cheese soufflé starter is my permanent choice, nothing else even gets a look in for me. Mains are generous, great hamburgers (definitely not your run of the mill burger), fish of the day and mushroom risotto to name but a few. Afternoon tea is also excellent, some of the best scones in Cape Town.

The setting is beautiful, very tranquil and with the excellent service this is a wonderful way to while away an afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    68
    28
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Improving with every visit”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I frequently visit The Conservatory for dinner - we especially enjoy pre dinner drinks by the fire, and post dinner coffee and cognac in that same setting. This restaurant does have 'wobbles' with service, but the food is always first class and beautifully presented. The double baked cheese souffle is divine, the venison always a firm favourite . We find the Chef's selection menu great value at R280 - try that in London, Sydney or New York - Never!

Jo Massie and her team are striving for excellence, they go out of their way to correct any problems that may occur. The Hotel is a historic institution within the Constantia Valley.

We thoroughly recommend our guests and business colleagues to both The Conservatory or the more formal Greenhouse.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank familybrown176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“pricey - but real quality”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The meal was a bit pricey. But the dishes were exquisite and tasty and in the end mo ney well spent. The local wines are amazing. The service is top notch!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank rayochoksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal with some serious critics”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a diner at the Conservancy to celebrate my eldest sons birthday. Both he and his girlfriend are trainee chefs. One of their friends is a chef at this restaurant so we gave it a try.
I went with the specialty menu (cheese souffle / crispy duck / chocolate fondant) = all tasty and well presented. The "critics" were well impressed by their meals although their antelope was not very tender. Younger brother had the gourmet burger with the foie gras , quite expensive but tasty and very nicely presented. Very nice service and venue. I would not particularly come to this restaurant again, perhaps a visit to this hotel again to try the Green Room and the gardens during the day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kelvincraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The most expensive gourmet burger ever.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

The gardens are worthy of a stroll. Just beautiful. The setting gorgeous. But the gourmet burger, costing a small fortune, was not medium rare, but sadly almost well done. The outing is worthy of a repeat and I thoroughly recommend the delicious duck.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sacram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Conservatory also viewed

 
Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to The Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing