We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing.”
Review of The Brasserie

The Brasserie
Ranked #11 of 43 Restaurants in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We've enjoyed dining more than once in Societi Bistro in Cape Town so, on a recent visit to Constantia, we were keen to try it's new "sister", Societi Brasserie.
I'm sorry to say that it was something of a disappointment.
Whilst the decor is contemporary and relaxed, the menu was limited and the Brasserie lacked "buzz" or atmosphere. Perhaps this is just the difference between Constantia and Cape Town Central.
In any case, I was expecting more. Our spaghetti was OK but nothing "to write home about".
Societi Brasserie has a way to go before it matches up to its big sister.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Photopedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    75
    24
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Superb food at a very reasonable price! Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Within four nights we had three dinners at this fabulous place! We loved our waiter Danielle, very competent and friendly! The atmosphere was super, just like in a brasserie in Paris. The food was outstanding, especially the sirloin steak, the beef tartar, and the profiteroles! Would absolutely go back next time we are in Constantia.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank salovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“God Food, Service & Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Societi Brasserie in Tokai was a pleasant surprise - the decor and ambiance warm with a longish bar and good seating. Add the pleasant waitering, good selection of food and wines and you end up with a very enjoyable meal. The easy access and ample safe parking make this a local favourite. Worth doing either as a family or romantic evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hotshotCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

As a local restaurant with a good but unpretentious menu this restaurant takes a lot to beat. A varied menu with daily specials served by an efficient and helpful waiter. The restaurant is quite large yet intimate feeling and the good is well prepared and presented. Well worth at least one or more visits

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 21Davids22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very nice atmosphere, with excellent food and affordable cuisine.

This was the big surprise during our last Cape Town visit and we really love it.

Best dish for us are the home made pasta with prawn and chorizo. Would die for it.

Spend our christmas eve dinner directly in front of the cooking station and it was fabolous and in fact our real cuisine adventure.

Great staff, worked hard but always with fun and passion.

If you're in Constantia, try to spend time there!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brasserie also viewed

Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to The Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing