We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, ambiance, and food”
Review of Steenberg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great rooms, ambiance, and food”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Warm hospiallity and stunning accomodations. The restaurant Catarina's is superb and tapas at the Bistro 1682 at the winery hit the spot. Our 2nd visit and a must when visiting Cape Town. The winery on the premises is beautiful and they produce wonderful cabs and red blends as well as a Cape Classique sparkling wine that is also excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabby1dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    42
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
65
298
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

After safaris in Zambia and Namibia, we relaxed at the Steenberg Hotel. The staff is very accommodating and the facility (including vineyards, golf and spa) and grounds are beautiful. The rooms are generous, huge bathtub, large shower and heated floors in the carpeted areas! The meals at the restaurant are first class. The shuttle service to the waterfront is nice. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms on the end (either overlooking the golf course or the mountains and vineyards) are larger (my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We've spent some wonderful days at the Steenberg during our honeymoon. Everybody was doing their best to make it a memorable and great stay!
We also had dinner at Catharina's, the restaurant, which was excellent as well!
First class with a warm heart! Thanks!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great dining and the food is first class. I like the history and the heritage of the estate. Unfortunately the golf course was closed during our stay but surrounding golf courses are just as good.
The service staff are friendly and very efficient. Definitely worth visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tayll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay at the beautiful Steenberg for three nights. We received excellent service from the word go. Making the booking and all pre-arriving correspondence, was so efficient and really friendly. Our room had a great view, was spacious, very comfortable and beautiful with lovely soaps, bath salts etc in the bathroom. We ordered breakfast to our room which we enjoyed on our stoep after we went for a jog on the incredible golf course - the course condition is superb, stunning vineyards, Tokai forest and mountain in the background, makes running a joy! I loved the berry smoothie and french toast, and my husband really enjoyed his breakfast. Everything had a special touch and was offered on a beautiful tray with very generous portions. Dinner at Catharina's is a MUST! Decor and food equally creative and highly recommended, and you get to enjoy Steenberg wine. The cherry on top of the good service offered by the staff was when they posted a left behind cellphone charger to us. My only negative is that we only stayed 3 nights!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIELIE16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband an I have recently spent three nights at this stunning hotel, set in the Constantia winelands with vineyard and golf course. Following a safari at Nedille lodge.

Everything about this historic hotel exuded charm and elegance. The rooms are the height of elegance, fully equiped, beautiful antique furniture with all the technology and comfort a modern traveller requires.

The location, some way out of Cape Town (it took an hour at peak times) is simply stunning, the vineyards stretch up towards the mountains, the grounds are immaculate, the hotel is comfortable, elegant, well equipped and so relaxing. We were greeted by staff knowing our names, expecting us and a lovley glass of cool sparkling wine, heaven after a long day travelling.

Catharinas fine dining restaurant is in a separate building in the grounds, we ate there on all three nights and were so impressed with everything we tried including springbok, fillet steaks, fish, and of course wine. the staff were chatty, knowledgeable and attentive each meal was worthy of a Michelin star. The breakfast were beautiful, freshly cooked, lots of choice and twice we had breakfast in bed due to early tours which was superb as well. The is also a bistro for breakfast, lunch and tapas which we didn't sadly get to try due to the times of our tours.

The only comment I would make is to check that if you want to do organised tours they do a complimentary pick up and drop off at this hotel. Our tour company did collect us free but we had to be picked up at 7.17 and returned at 19.30 as the traffic means it takes a long time to get into Cape Town to pick other passengers up from various hotels and then drop them off on return. Thus an 8 hour tour was a 12 hour day. This wouldn't be an issue with private tours or if you had a car.

All together our stay was faultless and I'd like to say a huge thank you for making our time in South Africa so amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NessieMaile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

It is luxurious, clean, best and most friendly staff I have met in a long time. We were expected and taken care of in a wonderful way. Rooms excellent and the service was beyond. Before thinking of what to do they were asking and suddenly we had maps in our room.
Excellent food. A great way to stay in Capetown without staying in city centre. Easy to find to when dri

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingridericson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
412 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,529 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
642 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steenberg Hotel

Property: Steenberg Hotel
Address: Tokai Road | Steenberg Estate, Constantia 7945, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#1 Family Hotel in Constantia
#2 Business Hotel in Constantia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel surrounded by vineyards nestles at the foot of the magnificent Stone Mountain. Here the elegance & tradition of the 17th century blend harmoniously with the luxuries and conveniences of our modern age. A Championship golf course, an award winning Winery, Catharina’s Restaurant and Steenberg Spa complete the serene picture of this 24-bedroom Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Steenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steenberg Hotel Cape Town
Steenberg Hotel Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing