We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Try it”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I have stayed at the Alphen twice this year and really like this hotel. It's an unusual place as it doubles up as a hotel for visitors and a very popular watering hole for Constantia locals. La Belle - the all day casual restaurant and bakery - is just the sort of place that anyone would want in their neighbourhood and sitting outside there for lunch or breakfast in the Cape Town sun is always magic. The more formal 5 Rooms restaurant is equally popular in the evenings.

The rooms are also very nice, with lots of space and bright, modern interiors. Some have terraces overlooking the beautiful Alphen gardens. The service is generally good, with sometimes slow response times more than made up for by the warmth of the welcome given to guests.

This hotel does not deliver consistent five start perfection. It can sometimes be chaotic, the pool needs improvements (it was rather cold and full of leaves both times I stayed there) and the neighbouring M3 motorway can be heard from the garden and some rooms. But overall this is still a great place to stay and they have a lovely team of people working there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Charlie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at The Alphen Boutique Hotel.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken note of your feedback and will certainly focus on evaluating the concerns raised with the greatest of care as we strive daily to provide the very best in five star hospitality and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    31
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
98
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

LA BELLE ALPHEN

The setting of the historic Alphen Hotel is superb! The beautiful Constantia Berg forms a majestic backdrop and the manicured lawns and indigenous flora complete an unforgettable canvas. The star of the show is the beautifully proportioned main house which is Dutch colonial grandeur at its elegant best. (It even comes complete with the tale of a famous 19thC duel fought on the wide stoep of the imposing homestead.)
Newly revamped, the complex boasts a modern makeover that blends seamlessly with ancient façades.
Taste buds will be titillated by the exciting menus and innovative cuisine on offer at the magnificent 5 Rooms Restaurant or the lovely La Belle Café where, delicious breakfasts and luncheons are served on the shady, paved verandah or under huge mirrors and large framed prints of unforgettable, French lavender.
Try the roast vegetable quiche served with a fresh side salad, or the ricotta pancakes drenched in maple syrup. Speciality coffees and homemade cakes complete the picture. The place is a delight and could fit comfortably into the best international settings. A treat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Relais-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review.

We hope to welcome you back to The Alphen Boutique Hotel soon.

Warmest regards,
Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Rooms are nicely decorated and are not just typical 5 star hotel plain/flavorless rooms. Breakfast was excellent as well as the dinner in the "5 Rooms" restaurant (live Jazz band was definitely a nice plus!). The pool area and the Rose Bar are nice to lounge on afternoons with a bottle of Cap Classique. There was nice walking/running trail just behind the hotel properties and the Groot Constansia wine yard is close by. Couple of small misses though: there were leaves in the pool but that was probably because it was winter time and not many guests were swimming. TV/sat was not working but it was fixed on the first morning. Service and room service was efficient and attentive. We had fantastic 3 days in Alphen and would go there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teesuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We have shared your comments with our team and have taken note of the areas of concern. It is only through feedback like yours that we are able to strive to maintain our 5 star level of service at The Alphen Boutique Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit Cape Town.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in a lovely part of the Cape. The rooms are stunning and the hotel cleaning staff are good. Breakfast and dinner service is incredibly slow, so if you're in a rush, don't eat there. It takes about half an hour to get a menu and a further hour to get food. The pool bar closes at 11:00 and also if it rains, even though it is covered.

Room Tip: If you want a quick breakfast, see if you can order the night before. LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We have taken note of your feedback and will certainly focus on evaluating the concerns raised with the greatest of care as we strive daily to provide the very best in five star hospitality. Our Rose Bar (Pool Bar) closes at 11:00 pm due to our close proximity to the residential area.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We had a family gathering at the Alphen Hotel. It was my mother's birthday and we wanted to treat her without my mom having to do anything. We booked a table for 10 and ordered a birthday cake, and all I can say is wow. It was a very busy Sunday but all seemed very calm, fantastic freshly squeezed juices and awesome coffee is how we started out morning. Breakfast was delicious and everyone got served at the same time. My two nieces loved the flapjacks and the milkshakes are to die for. The birthday cake put the cherry on the cake for my mum who had the best birthday ever. Staff were friendly and attentive and the food was fatastic. The kids played on the lawn outside while the adults finnished their coffees.
Thank you for making this day so memorable.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Mrs Brophy,

Thank you so much for your feedback.

We are so very pleased to hear that The Alphen Boutique Hotel was able to play such a great and happy role in your family gathering. Family, at the end of the day, is what makes the world go around.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Have been visiting SA for over 30 years and apart from it being closed one time we have always had meals there. We had a wedding anniversary party there 25 years ago for my parents who came out with my husband, daughter and myself with our S.A family. First stop of call when we arrive @Cape Town International. Love sundowners in the Rose Bar on my birthday. Just returned to the UK this week. Roll on next year!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suehodgson-kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

It is wonderful to hear that The Alphen Boutique Hotel has become part of your precious family memories. We look forward to making many more happy ones together in the years to come.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

The Hotel is stunningly beautiful, the rooms spacious, elegant, with everything you could wish for. And after a peaceful night you go for breakfast which is served under those wonderful giant oak trees ... And then the pattern changes completely and we wondered who manages the kitchen - whatever you ordered, if it takes long (meaning about 30 min. or more) you are relatively lucky. You could also be asked - after a longish time - to repeat your order, "as the kitchen doesn't seem to have got it". And everything comes in the wrong order ... etc. - total chaos. Even if breakfast, once you get it, is as good as it should be: the service is intolerable for the otherwise perfect Hotel - hard to understand!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Margrit38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay.

We appreciate your constructive feedback and I can assure you of our commitment to rectify the service shortcomings you experienced at la Belle Bistro & Bakery as our goal is to offer a wholestic 5 star experience..

We hope that you give us the opportunity to welcome you back to The Alphen Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
1.2 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
412 reviews
4.3 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
492 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Last Word Constantia
The Last Word Constantia
#3 of 5 in Constantia
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,291 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Marly Hotel
The Marly Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
209 reviews
6.0 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alphen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alphen Boutique Hotel

Property: The Alphen Boutique Hotel
Address: Alphen Drive, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Constantia
#4 Business Hotel in Constantia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Alphen Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Alphen Boutique Hotel in Constantia is 23 kms from Cape Town International Airport, 15 kms from the City Centre and circa 12 kms from False Bay beaches. In close proximity to major attractions, such as Newlands Rugby Stadium and Cricket Ground and Kennilworth Racecourse, it has a relaxing country feel aire about it. Combining Cape Dutch with the contemporary, a playful twist has been added to this historical 11.5 acre landmark. Offering modern amenities, plush comforts, high-tech facilities and exceptional services, this multi-faceted 5-star destination provides venues for relaxing, socialising, conducting business, dining, wining & celebrating life. Facilities & Features include: 19 Spacious Suites, 3 Independent Restaurants - 5 Rooms Restaurant, la Belle Cafe & Bakery and The Rose Bar - 3 Bars, including The Rose Bar - outdoor bar & terrace, Business Centre, Functions & Events Facilities and Expansive, Landscaped Garden with pool. This property is well suited to wedding functions. 300 Years of Cape Hospitality continues under New Management. Step into a World of Hedonistic Glamour - a little Eccentric, somewhat Bohemian, rather Eclectic & Casually Elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Alphen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alphen Boutique Hotel Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing