We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem discovered”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We read about the Alphen hotel just after we arrived back home last year. It was high on our list of places to visit this year and we were not disappointed, on the contrary. First of all, it is a beautiful estate, no discussion about that. When we first visited on Sunday evening we were very friendly welcomed by all staff members and got a quick tour of the place by the manager on duty (sorry to forget his name). Food at the 5 Rooms was excellent and the place is really very elegantly decorated. Excellent service by Moses. Today, Wednesday, we returned for lunch at La Belle. Fantastic seating outside, very good food and excellent service by Mavis. Why don't we have this kind of place back home in Belgium?

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Flamingotiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Director of Sales at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Sir, what a great review! We have informed our staff members of your positive feedback and thank-you kindly for that. It’s always good to know when our team players go the extra mile. That is a characteristic of the Alphen staff. We strive to be warm and personalised in our style whilst ensuring the very highest of standards in our luxurious setting. We wish you the very best and hope you had a safe trip back home to Belgium. Please come and visit us again. I am sure you will be delighted at the surprises we are working towards offering our Patrons…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 200 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

One of the best hotels I ever stayed in!! Terrific on every level. Very opulent. Pure luxury! It's a place you wish someone would tell you to go to.. They set standards other 5* establishments struggle to meet. The cafe on premises is very trendy with wonderful breakfasts. The 5Rooms Restaurant served us the best food we ever had!!! Literally! We now know the real meaning to the saying 'a feast in the mouth'. Thought we knew, but they proved us wrong. Unforgettable presentation, flavours and combinations. Thank you Alphen!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlwaysBatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My Wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at the newly refurbished Alphen Hotel..... What a gem of a hotel. We were greeted by friendly staff , experienced wonderful food and service in the 5 Belles restaurant. The spacious suites are wonderfully decorated and the beds a dream to sleep in. All set in a magic part of the leafy southern suburbs of Cape Town. It exudes a wonderful and friendy atmoshpere.
Thank you Robert and your professional staff for your thoughful touches to our celebration.
kind rgds
Charles and Sue

Room Tip: Do yourself a favour...book a Stunning Suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, Public Relations Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Charles and Sue

Thank you for your thoughtful review of The Alphen! We pride ourselves in delivering exceptional service and outstanding facilities, but most importantly, for adding a personal touch and making our guests' visits unforgettable. We are always delighted to receive such wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back (soon we hope!) and are pleased to have been part of your special celebration. Warm Regards, Robert and The Alphen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

What a wonderful hotel! It is a national monument, and therefore steeped in history, but it is also ultra-modern with every luxury you could dream of. Blissfully comfortable beds and welcoming staff. The suites are a dream!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EleniDanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Eleni
Thank you so much for feedback on your stay with us. We wanted to preserve the rich history and tradition of this beautiful historic hotel while adding a modern twist, a new energy - and we successfully succeeded in combining old with new. Velvets, leather, classic artwork and centuries old antiques are perfectly combined with sleek, contemporary pieces and playful elements. A hotel unlike any other, our guests are always pleasantly surprised with what we have on offer. Hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We decided to choose the Alphen hotel to celebrate our anniversary, and as we had been invited out that evening in the area, thought that this would be a special treat. It went beyond our expectations. On arrival, we were warmly welcomed by the most caring hotel staff who took care of our car, ushered us to the most wonderful room overlooking the magnificent gardens. The hotel is a national treasure being one of the oldest Cape Dutch farms in the area and the recent revival and redocoration has been so tastefully done. We went and had a cocktail in the Rose Bar overlooking the pool area, and were immediately presented with fleecy blankets in case of cold. After a wonderfully comfortable night, we arose to have breakfast at Belle, the daytime restaurant and bakery. What a delight! Their health muesli with nuts and honey served in a preserve jar, was delicious and this was accompanied by freshly sqeezed orange juice and the best cappuccino.
I recommend this venue most highly for providing us with a stay

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Baren,
Thank you for your lovely review! We pride ourselves in not only providing a wonderful hotel with ouTstanding facilities, but also on having a great team who are focused on taking exceptional care of our guests. We are delighted that you had an unforgettable stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Please let us know when you are planning a visit again!
Best Regards
Robert Van Gent, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights in the beautiful Alphen Hotel. It was his first time in Cape Town and he was just over the moon. The very big extravagant rooms, the comfortable beds and their state of the art bathrooms just made us not want to leave. On Sunday night; dinner at the 5 Rooms was just a cherry on top. The service was superb and and and...On my next visit to Cape Town; I will have no doubt as to where to go. I will recommend to the Alphen to all couples who just want time out

Room Tip: The Amazing suite was great; I am sure all the other suites are just as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nthoamehla Enid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Nthoamehla,
Thank you for your very positive review!
We greatly appreciate feedback from our guests and it shows that our constant, ongoing efforts to excel way beyond average expectations, are noted. We are immensely pleased that you and your husband had a magical 2 days with us.
Please let us know when you next plan to visit...we like to treat our return guests to an extra special surprise.
Best Regards
Robert Van Gent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We spent 2 nights at this recently completely renovated hotel! What a nice stay it was! The beautiful historical buildings go so well with the "new" look with a "twist" ! The rooms are spacious and make a bold statement with the added luxury of 2 bathrooms! The Deli is fabulous for sumptuous breakfasts and light meals - the 5 Rooms restaurant was fully booked on Friday night, giving it a great buzz! The waiters are excellent and very clued up - really great food and great presentation! It sure will be stunning to stay there in the summer months when all the oak trees are green and the gardens in full bloom..... For those who want to be away from the hustle of the Waterfront, this is an ideal location to spend a few days...the beaches of Muizenberg are also not far from here - and they have a limousine service which can take you to great restaurants all over the peninsula! Loved the vibe in combination with the tranquility here! (also kid friendly!)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mfaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Mfaze
Thank you for a fabulous review and high recommendation. The general theme of combining classically historical with modern contemporary was the idea behind the complete revamp at the end of 2011. Your feedback proves that we have achieved this, along with top offerings, such as our two restaurants, three bars, beautiful grounds and spacious, ultra-luxurious suites.
We appreciate you taking time to write this review and thereby assisting other travellers to select an exceptional boutique hotel...a mere 15 minutes from Cape Town city centre.
Best Regards
Robert Van Gent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
1.2 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#3 of 5 in Constantia
436 reviews
4.3 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
508 reviews
2.4 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Last Word Constantia
The Last Word Constantia
#4 of 5 in Constantia
197 reviews
6.0 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
673 reviews
21.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alphen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alphen Boutique Hotel

Address: Alphen Drive, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Constantia
#4 Family Hotel in Constantia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
Price Range: $245 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Alphen Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Alphen Boutique Hotel in Constantia is 23 kms from Cape Town International Airport, 15 kms from the City Centre and circa 12 kms from False Bay beaches. In close proximity to major attractions, such as Newlands Rugby Stadium and Cricket Ground and Kennilworth Racecourse, it has a relaxing country feel aire about it. Combining Cape Dutch with the contemporary, a playful twist has been added to this historical 11.5 acre landmark. Offering modern amenities, plush comforts, high-tech facilities and exceptional services, this multi-faceted 5-star destination provides venues for relaxing, socialising, conducting business, dining, wining & celebrating life. Facilities & Features include: 19 Spacious Suites, 3 Independent Restaurants - 5 Rooms Restaurant, la Belle Cafe & Bakery and The Rose Bar - 3 Bars, including The Rose Bar - outdoor bar & terrace, Business Centre, Functions & Events Facilities and Expansive, Landscaped Garden with pool. This property is well suited to wedding functions. 300 Years of Cape Hospitality continues under New Management. Step into a World of Hedonistic Glamour - a little Eccentric, somewhat Bohemian, rather Eclectic & Casually Elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Alphen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alphen Boutique Hotel Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing