We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cellars-Hohenort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for the first 2 nights of our honeymoon. Staff were friendly and jump at our every need. The accomodation and grounds were very quite and peaceful and the location good for touring around Cape Town. We will certainly return and recommend this hotel without reservation.

P.S. Be sure to request a private dinner in the wine cellar!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bistro1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 428 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2006

We discovered the Cellars by accident - transferring from its sister hotel in Plettenburg Bay for a night between our travels. This hotel is a delight. We found it very reminiscent of Le Manoir aux Quat Saisons in terms of the landscaping around the hotel. Each bedroom/suite is decorated differently, all in delightful style to a really consistent and high standard. The breakfasts were the best we've ever had in a hotel, although we were a little less impressed by the restaurants in the evening. The management and staff were all really friendly and helpful - a real home away from home. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2006

We stayed in The Cellars for one night as part of our honeymoon - in actual fact we only stayed there because my brother had eaten in its restaurant and declared it the best meal he had ever eaten.

Boy were we glad we stayed there. The Cellars simply raises the notion of hotel service to a completely different level. In a country where we were completely spoiled in terms of the overall quality of service, The Cellars still stood out as being outstanding.

On check-in, the duty manager welcomed us and personally brought us to our (upgraded) room. There we found a complimentary bottle of red wine, which was soon followed by a bottle of champagne about an hour later. When we arrived for dinner, the restaurant staff immediately recognised us, and offered us a glass of champagne in the bar - I still don't know how they knew us as none of the people who had checked us is were still on duty.

We were fortunate enough to stay there when there was a Hamilton Russell wine evening and the head chef had designed a menu to specifically match the wines from that renowned vineyard. The vineyard owner was in attendance and the food (and wine) was absolutely outstanding. And yet the cost came to less than 600SAR for both of us.

On returning to our room, it had been prepared for night time in the most romantic way possible, with rose petals scattered on the bed, two hot water bottles in the bed, and even our bookmarks in our books had been replaced by flower petals ...

Again the next morning the breakfast was outstanding, as good as I have ever had, served again with the most discrete and perfect service imaginable, with a breath-taking view in the daylight of table mountain.

We took a quick walk around the grounds, which were impressive, but as it was during the SA winter I would love to return and see them during the summer.

All in all, this was an outstanding hotel, and I cannot re-iterate enough how much we enjoyed staying there. It has raised the bar against which all other hotels will be compared. Our only regret was that we only stayed there one night.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaithiMac01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2005

Stayed here in their autumn. It was fabulous! After a long journey to Capetown, we started our vacation at the Cellars. It was like coming home.

The front desk even sent a pot of tea up to our suite to help us recover from the travel wearies. The suite was warm and extremely comfortable and cheerful. The food in the restaurant was good, the bartender gave us a private wine tasting of the area wines.

We also used the in-house travel desk and found it to be a wonderful as well as educational investment. I highly recommend them.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dpatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2005

We stayed at this hotel for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon and the staff could not have done more for us. Without exception the staff were friendly and anticipated our every need. They went out of their way to make our stay special. The accomodation and grounds were wonderful and the position good for touring around Cape Town. We will certainly return and recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JST88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
14
Reviewed February 17, 2005

I've stayed at this hotel twice and enjoyed every minute. The service is excellent, the rooms are spacious and it's a wonderful location in the vineyard area.
I'd recommend getting travel/sightseeing advice and help from the hotel - they organised it all for us and we had a great chap giving us a private tour of the Cape.
My only niggle was that the pool was a little chilly but, we were there in Spring.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2004

A realy Great Hotel with exelent Service VERY nice and friendly stuff New and renovated rooms great bar very nice food !!! Do not miss it !!!!!

2  Thank LUFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
502 reviews
Vineyard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newlands
1,330 reviews
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Last Word Constantia
#3 of 5 in Constantia
193 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cellars-Hohenort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cellars-Hohenort

Address: 93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Constantia
#3 Family Hotel in Constantia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
Price Range: $238 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cellars-Hohenort 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cape Town's historical Constantia Valley, on the breathtaking slopes of Table Mountain, all the rooms and suites of The Cellars-Hohenort boast panoramic views of the impressive mountain and the beautiful grounds. Set in 9.5 acres of world renowned and award winning gardens, this historic and beautiful country escape in the city offers guests far more than just incomparable scenery. Surrounded by top wine producing farms and some of South Africa's most popular restaurants,you will find so much to do and a mere fifteen minute drive to Cape Town City center & Waterfront. Back at the hotel there are two award-winning dining experiences, including Greenhouse, where cuisine focuses on regional flavors with modern interpretations. All of this is the result of owner Liz McGrath's more than twenty years of hard work, love and endless inspiration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cellars-Hohenort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Hotel Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing