We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Cellars-Hohenort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top Class”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful settings and a quite place in Constancia. The place got charm and the employees are service minded, happy and extremely nice. You will feel like coming back to a place you have been to before, even if it your first visit. The Greenhouse restaurant is world class in all respects and worth the money. It was, for us a perfect location to explore the Constancia area, the golf courses nearby and only a 15 minutes car ride to Cape Town city centre.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Per B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found us to be well positioned within Cape Town. Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Warm Regards
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    73
    35
    11
    11
See reviews for
58
222
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is a most delightful friendly hotel situated within beautiful gardens. The accommodation is of a very high standard and one feels like a guest in a country house. It is conveniently located for Kirstenbosch Gardens and is a short drive to Cape Town and the airport. The staff are particularly helpful and do everything to make one at ease. There are two restaurants - the Greenhouse for fine dining and the conservatory for a delightful a la carte menu. The is also the opportunity for a Cape Malay cooking experience which my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed. Everything is done in a discrete way to make one feel at home and it is a place where we would be delighted to return to should the chance arise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. It is wonderful to hear that you felt so at home and enjoyed all of our dining experiences. Looking forward to your return visit.

Best wishes for the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This remains one of our favourite hotels, anywhere. Situated In Constantia, a short drive outside Cape Town and close to Kirstenbosch Gardens, the hotel is a haven for those looking to get away from the daily hustle and bustle. The grounds are beautifully maintained and home to a family of white Call Ducks. (The ducks for us are a real highlight! While they make some noise during the day we did not find this in any way disruptive and didn't hear a peep at night.)

We have stayed at this property twice. Our first visit was in December 2012 when we were lucky enough to spend a week in a deluxe suite (courtesy of an upgrade by the hotel.) The deluxe suite was beautifully appointed with hard wood floors and a contemporary looking four poster bed. We visited again in December 2013 and this time stayed in a suite. The furnishings looked a little bit tired in comparison to the deluxe suite and the floor was carpets. However the balcony offered more privacy and shade.

The real stand out here is the quality of service. Everyone greeted us with a smile and all the staff - front desk, room service, housekeeping as well as in the bar and restaurant - did everything they could to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. This was absolutely five star service.

The hotel also has a spa with dermalogica and theravine products. We had a number of treatments at the spa which was incredibly clean. The treatments were a very good quality to price ratio.

Room Tip: If you're looking to splurge, go for one of the deluxe suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrandmrs_snuffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is wonderful to hear that you so enjoyed your return visit with us, especially our white ducks! Thank you also for your constructive comments regarding the suite you stayed in on your most recent visit. I am happy to inform you that we will be looking at refurbishments in the New Year. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I recently brought a corporate trip of eleven to this hotel and we were not an easy group to look after! Despite this, we were completely spoilt here. The hotel is absolutely stunning, in amazing grounds with lovely pools and on the slopes of Table Mountain. In terms of setting, one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. The staff went out of their way to accomodate the ever-changing requests of our group and everyone was made to feel very welcome. We were also lucky enough to have lunch in the Greenhouse which was an amazing experience, would definitely recommend you treat yourself if you stay at the hotel.
I'd love to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fozzie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
It was a great pleasure to have your group staying with us at The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel. I am very happy to hear you so enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Once again we took Sunday Lunch in the Conservatory Restaurant at the beautiful Cellars-Hohenort, Constantia, this time with 20 fellow diners as it was a special occasion. And once again we were treated like Royalty and the Cellars Roast Beef with all the trimmings after a delicious Cheese Soufle was outstanding - in value as well as quality. A lovely desert and coffee and petit fours followed all for an amazing price; do try it you will not be disappointed. With the Cape Town Summer finally upon us it is a treat to be treasured.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric1662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Conservatory Restaurant for your special Sunday Lunch. I am delighted you so enjoyed your day with us and we look forward to your return visit.

Best wishes
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We did not stay here but have been coming here to lunch in the Conservatory for more than a decade. Beautiful gardens, allow extra time before/after lunch to wander. You may even see/hear the white ducks! Always a warm welcome from the staff who are eager to please. The atmosphere is not formal, there is more of a laid back approach here so just go with the flow.
The menu is small, the dishes fresh & seasonal. Enjoy the bread selection but keep room your chosen courses.The signature double baked cheese soufflé is delicious as are the sesame chicken and mozzarella panacotta. The line fish is a safe choice, beautifully presented and so fresh, this allows you to keep room for the Liz McGrath chocolate selection for dessert.
The wines on the list can be pricy so choose carefully. Ask to see the wine by the glass menu, they have a good selection of well chosen quality wines.
We shall be back we love the experience so much.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HudsonS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
I am very pleased to hear that you have once again returned to The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel for an enjoyable lunch experience, as well as a walk through our gardens with the ducks.

So looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to Constantia.

Warm regards
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Booked luxury double room. We were shown to an small attic room overlooking car park by very pleasant Manageress.
The room was not made up as twin room as requested in our booking .
The room was disappointingly noisy with cars leaving the hotel late and ducks quacking below our window all night.The room was not up to the standard of our previous many years staying at Liz Mcgrath hotels. After a night of battling with the wall and the curtain on my complaining to the Manageress I was told she would have upgraded us if we had asked. We will not be staying at this group of hotels again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beth j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you have raised, which were not up to standard. I would like to reassure you that these have all been addressed.

We are very sorry to hear that you wish not to return and will be in contact with you directly in this regard.

With best regards
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
493 reviews
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
188 reviews
The Last Word Constantia
#3 of 5 in Constantia
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,294 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cellars-Hohenort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cellars-Hohenort

Property: The Cellars-Hohenort
Address: 93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Constantia
#3 Business Hotel in Constantia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cellars-Hohenort 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cape Town's historical Constantia Valley, on the breathtaking slopes of Table Mountain, all the rooms and suites of The Cellars-Hohenort boast panoramic views of the impressive mountain and the beautiful grounds. Set in 9.5 acres of world renowned and award winning gardens, this historic and beautiful country escape in the city offers guests far more than just incomparable scenery. Surrounded by top wine producing farms and some of South Africa's most popular restaurants,you will find so much to do and a mere fifteen minute drive to Cape Town City center & Waterfront. Back at the hotel there are two award-winning dining experiences, including Greenhouse, where cuisine focuses on regional flavors with modern interpretations. All of this is the result of owner Liz McGrath's more than twenty years of hard work, love and endless inspiration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cellars-Hohenort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Hotel Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing