We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Workshop Venue” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cellars-Hohenort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cellars-Hohenort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing Workshop Venue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

A wonderful setting for a small workshop, but let down badly by poor admin support. Data projector was not in place as requested. Dietary requirements of guests totally ignored. Only fish as a main course when they had been informed of a serious fish allergy. No provision for Halal after similar booking advice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. It has been addressed with our team to prevent this reoccuring in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    71
    30
    11
    11
See reviews for
46
216
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Shabby carpets, tired decor, poor room service menu, none of the sparkle one expects from a high priced 5 star hotel. Very poor value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonathanBroomberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony R, CEO The Collection by Liz McGrath at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your constructuve comments, which are all currently being addressed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and to showing you some of our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Herradura, Spain
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

We love the Garden which is extremely well tendered! Grand Elegance in CapeTown in this historic jewel in Constantia.

A Relais & Chateaux Establishment which is a guarentee of charm, comfort, owner's personal attention to detail, great staff, great dining and a fine wine list.

We are not frequent visitors to Cape Town. My wife and I have stayed here twice in the past couple of years and on my last visit which was for business I insisted that I stay, contrary to Company Policy about Five Star Hotels. I had to give a very convincing reason which happened to be true. Not the big city hotels for us.

The signature restaurant had moved from the main Homestead to an adjacent building. The food was still just as good as ever. I was pleased that breakfast was served in the same place as usual.

I have stayed in the same room on all three visits. It gives direct access to the garden on one side of the property. I just love the "duck patrol or is that the snail demolition squad?" Don't forget the cat who reigns supreme.

A must for those who don't want to be be in the city centre or on the fashionable western seaboard.

Room Tip: A ground floor garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

If you want a truly unforgettable stay at a hotel in Cape Town that has "old world charm" then don't look past the Cellars Hohenort hotel. We based ourselves there for 4 nights and did day trips to the surrounding areas each day. The breakfast spread was great and the room was very comfortable (bed was bliss). The staff went out of their way to be very friendly and the service was fantastic. Each day, when we headed back home to the Cellars Hohenort Hotel after a long days trek, it felt like we were coming home to enjoy a relaxing sundowner next to the fire. The hotel is built on 9 acres of beautiful garden, which deserves a stroll around and adds to the quiet comfort of the hotel. If you want a hotel that takes you back to the old world charm then really consider this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the gardens which was lovely - I am not sure what the other room views hol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, detailing how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you felt so at home at The Cellars-Hohenort.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards

Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

My boyfriend and I won a 3 night stay at The Cellars-Hohenort and it was the best Hotel experience both of us ever had. We were treated like Kings during our entire stay. The Hotel is beautiful as well as the surrounds. All the staff members were extremely friendly and eager to assist. It's the best place to go if you feel like escaping the fast-paced and busy world out there. It is beautiful, relaxing and like taking a deep breath of fresh air.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Suites which was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to hear that you felt relaxed and spoilt during your stay with us.

Warm regards

Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

We had toyed with the idea of staying in the waterfront area, glad we didn't.We were met on arrival by the under manager who wished me a happy birthday'lead to reception and promptly given an upgrade.The suite was very good with a garden view.Ate the first night in the restaurant and enjoyed ourselves.The bed was very comfortable and the towels soft.Breakfast was excellent.the staff remembered little details such as lowfat milk and were never intrusive.Yes the hotel is not ultra modern but refind elegance.The hotel grounds are made for walking with the 7 gardeners each having a different theme in their own 1 acre.Having visited the Mount Nelson hotel, the cellars is much better.Guest security was first class.The owner Lis Mcgrath has created a hotel that my wife and I will return to.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billywiz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you so enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Warm regards

Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Forget VA Waterfront, forget city centre, if you want a wonderful romantic getaway, just 15min from the city then Cellars Hohenort is the place for you. Gorgeous, lush gardens surround 2 historic homesteads. Suites and cottages individually decorated are located throughout the gardens. Our stunning suite had it's own private garden, huge bathroom, lounge and kitchenette. Service was warm and friendly and super impressed that all staff knew the special occasion I was celebrating. Unfortunately Greenhouse was full due to pvt function, but the Conservatory offered delicious, simply prepared dinner. World class!!!!! Breakfast was served again in Conservatory, was perfect way to spend a sunday morning.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DragonflyAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 6 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Last Word Constantia
#4 of 6 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cellars-Hohenort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cellars-Hohenort

Property: The Cellars-Hohenort
Address: 93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Constantia
#3 Business Hotel in Constantia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cellars-Hohenort 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cape Town's historical Constantia Valley, on the breathtaking slopes of Table Mountain, all the rooms and suites of The Cellars-Hohenort boast panoramic views of the impressive mountain and the beautiful grounds. Set in 9.5 acres of world renowned and award winning gardens, this historic and beautiful country escape in the city offers guests far more than just incomparable scenery. Surrounded by top wine producing farms and some of South Africa's most popular restaurants,you will find so much to do and a mere fifteen minute drive to Cape Town City center & Waterfront. Back at the hotel there are two award-winning dining experiences, including Greenhouse, where cuisine focuses on regional flavors with modern interpretations. All of this is the result of owner Liz McGrath's more than twenty years of hard work, love and endless inspiration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Cellars-Hohenort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Hotel Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing