We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”

Cattle Baron Grill House
Ranked #17 of 42 Restaurants in Constantia
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

If you want really good food, don't eat at this restaurant. Some of the dishes are ok but in general they are lacking. The restaurant staff on the other hand are very very nice.
You need to reserve.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    81
    24
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good every time”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

If you fancy a tender, juicy steak, then this is the place to go. Cooked to perfection every time and served with delicious vegetables and local wine.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank misbehaviour999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon's Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
“Not a great experience”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

First visit at the end of August was excellent - food was delicious and Wellington was great.

Second visit on the 13 October was a complete contrast:

1. Waited 10 minutes for menus and had to get up to ask for them - menus dropped and followed by an abrupt answer by the manageress "we don't have enough it is a 20 minute wait" (Why not just inform us that we might have to wait - don't wait until a guest gets up to ask for them)

2.The waiter was taking pressure - his section could have been too large. We had to keep following up on where our drinks were.

3.Waited on food. One of the guests had to return their food 3 times. Manager came back twice to say "The chef, the owner and myself find nothing wrong with it, it is your preception" This comment made my guest feel very uncomfortable - as if she was talking nonsense.

4.Sent an email to inform Cattle Baron of how disappointed our second visit was - Melanie from the Head Office was very quick and professional in her response and mentioned that the owner would investigate and reply, alas nothing as of yet.

All restaurants have an off day and occassionally drop the ball, but it is the manner in which the problem is handled by management that makes all the difference.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Sometimes excellent, sometimes good.”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We went here three times in two weeks, on the Monday it was relatively empty, the food was very well cooked and the service was excellent. The second time we couldn't get a table. The third time I booked in advance but when I arrived we were messed around and had to wait 40min for a table, the food was not as good as when it was quieter so clearly they are strained. Mostly I would say the front of house is disorganised but the kitchen still turns out good enough meals.

I do recommend them, even if they are over popular.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob_DVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My family's first choice in the area”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Every family has somewhere nearby they love to frequent on those evenings when a juicy steak is in order. The Cattle Baron in Constantia has become our favourite place where we're able to enjoy anything from steaks to burgers and seafood.

I find their pricing good for the quality of the food and size of the portions served. We've fortunately outgrown those steakhouses that focus on young kids, and even my 10 year old son enjoys the white linen table cloths and finger bowls for his pork ribs!

There is an extensive wine list and comprehensive menu that should appeal to every taste. Service is fast, friendly and efficient. There has to be a reason this place is so popular with locals.

Helpful?
Thank Geejay5522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cattle Baron Grill House also viewed

 
Constantia, Cape Town
 
Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to Cattle Baron Grill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing