We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Bistro Sixteen82

Bistro Sixteen82
Ranked #5 of 58 Restaurants in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Named after the year in which Steenberg was established, Bistro Sixteen82 first opened its doors in 2009, and has been the tapas and bistro-style darling of the dining world ever since. An innovative and interactive wine and food destination, the Bistro sits adjacent to Steenberg’s winery, and spills into its surrounding indigenous gardens with a terraced dining area leading to reflective water features, unfurling into views of the magnificent stone mountains and expansive winelands. The Bistro Sixteen82 menu is a constant evolution, keeping up with seasonal produce and featuring inventive dishes that compliment the finest locally sourced ingredients. With Breakfast, Lunch and late-afternoon Tapas menus to choose from, the Bistro provides fine dining with an inimitable contemporary spirit. Executive Chef, Kerry Kilpin, love to create food which is seasonal, flavourful and bursts with freshness. "My greatest inspirations are derived from significant occasions in my life. On my travels to Thailand I developed a love and passion for Asian food. From shopping at the local food markets to creating my first authentic Thai dish, I was in heaven. You will notice a common thread in what I do and who I am. Love. I cook with love and my food is love." Internationally, Bistro Sixteen82 has been recognised in the list of 20 of the World’s Best Winery Restaurants by Canada’s renowned Wine Access magazine. Locally, listings included prominent mentions in Fleur du Cap’s Top 100 Places; Eat in Cape Town; and EAT OUT’s Best Bistros list.
Reviewed April 16, 2019 via mobile

Just dropped in for coffee and a snack. Coffee was bitter and burned, with dark residue stuck to the top of the cup.

They offer a very limited menu between 11am and midday, and whilst accepted it’s not on the menu - the fact they wouldn’t do some simple toast from their breakfast menu is borderline absurd.

In fairness, we weren’t charged for the coffee after feedback and service was fine. Don’t let this get in your way of visiting the Steenberg Tasting Room however which is fantastic, maybe just get your feed elsewhere.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank BucksDiner2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
158kerryk, Head Chef at Bistro Sixteen82, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear BucksDiner2015

Thank you for taking the time to review Bistro 1682 although you have negative things to say about our coffee we can use this to improve our offering.

Our breakfast is served from 9am-11am. We have an “All-day” menu which is served from 11am which consists of various charcuterie and cheese offerings. A simple request of toast after 11am seems easy enough. However we have a very small kitchen and everything from breakfast gets backed away including our toaster and we set up for lunch service. Our toaster is an industrial toaster and once set up it takes a further 15min to heat up. As much as you think it was a simple request unfortunately it is not so quickly done.

We hope you change your minds and give us another try in the future.

Kind regard
Kerry Kilpin
Kerry.kilpin@bistro1682.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 971 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

We are so happy we had locals recommended this spot to us for dinner! We did a tasting and dinner and loved every minute. The restaurant vibe and outdoor patio are amazing and the wine choices and menu as well, plus excellent service! Loved it!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank 842carlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
158kerryk, Head Chef at Bistro Sixteen82, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear 842carlan
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful tapas experience and enjoyed what Bistro 1682 has to offer. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Regards Kerry Kilpin
Kerry.kilpin@bistro1682.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

Main restaurant was closed for wedding so came down for tapas at bisrot on a Sunday evening clever concept as v busy at lunch time so a bit more relaxed mainly local the mcc sparking superb and main wine product the tapas were great but any Spanish French would have a fit not ad you expect just ask the waiter but if you expect paths brava to be with tomato it isnt and bisque is curry!!!! Who cares they explain everything we would recomend

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank talbotm42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
158kerryk, Head Chef at Bistro Sixteen82, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear talbotm42
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and your fabulous compliments on our tapas. We strive at Bistro 1682 to make your experience as memorable as possible. It was absolutely delightful to receive such a lovely review.
We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to our beautiful restaurant.
Regards
Kerry Kilpin
Kerry.kilpin@bistro1682

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

How lovely. A send off as some members were departing. A noisy group and our waitress coped very well. We had a super time, wonderful food, Steenberg wines. What a terrific combination.
Really appreciated the glass of sparkling risé. All decided to go and buy some. Good marketing!
Calamari was a hit as usual, tempura prawns delicious, blackboard specials of mussels and also of prawns both devine, so all good.
Mains, sad not to have the lamb neck but the cutlets in their place were delcious, chicken liver starter also hit the spot, Gemsbok was tough. This often happens. Kitchen can't always tell. The replacement belly pork was excellent.
We all left feeling that we had had a wonderul special experience. Well done to all. Thank you.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HudsonS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
158kerryk, Head Chef at Bistro Sixteen82, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear HudsonS16
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and your delightful compliments on our food and service. I sincerely apologise that your Gemsbok didn't live up to your expectations however I am very happy to hear were were able to rectify the problem and you enjoyed your Pork Belly.
We strive at Bistro 1682 to make your experience as memorable as possible and look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful restaurant.

Regards Kerry Kilpin
Kerry.kilpin@bistro1682.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

The food, service and atmosphere at Bistro Sixteen82 was truly exception - I could not fault them on a thing. We will most certainly be back!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank karinparsons01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
158kerryk, Head Chef at Bistro Sixteen82, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear karinparsons01
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and your fabulous compliments on our food and service. We strive at Bistro 1682 to make your experience as memorable as possible. It was absolutely delightful to receive such a lovely review.
We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to our beautiful restaurant.
Regards
Kerry Kilpin
Kerry.kilpin@bistro1682

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Sixteen82 also viewed

 
Cape Town, Western Cape
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to Bistro Sixteen82? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing