We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing this time”
Review of Bistro Sixteen82

Bistro Sixteen82
Ranked #3 of 43 Restaurants in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Named after the year in which Steenberg was established, Bistro Sixteen82 first opened its doors in 2009, and has been the tapas and bistro-style darling of the dining world ever since. An innovative and interactive wine and food destination, the Bistro sits adjacent to Steenberg’s winery, and spills into its surrounding indigenous gardens with a terraced dining area leading to reflective water features, unfurling into views of the magnificent stone mountains and expansive winelands. The Bistro Sixteen82 menu is a constant evolution, keeping up with seasonal produce and featuring inventive dishes that compliment the finest locally sourced ingredients. With Breakfast, Lunch and late-afternoon Tapas menus to choose from, the Bistro provides fine dining with an inimitable contemporary spirit. Executive Chef, Kerry Kilpin, love to create food which is seasonal, flavourful and bursts with freshness. "My greatest inspirations are derived from significant occasions in my life. On my travels to Thailand I developed a love and passion for Asian food. From shopping at the local food markets to creating my first authentic Thai dish, I was in heaven. You will notice a common thread in what I do and who I am. Love. I cook with love and my food is love." Internationally, Bistro Sixteen82 has been recognised in the list of 20 of the World’s Best Winery Restaurants by Canada’s renowned Wine Access magazine. Locally, listings included prominent mentions in Fleur du Cap’s Top 100 Places; Eat in Cape Town; and EAT OUT’s Best Bistros list.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing this time”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I love Sixteen82 and went several times last year, so was looking forward to my return. The menu has changed but all still looked very good even though my favourite dish - beef tataki - was no longer there. The setting is beautiful as ever. My starter of tuna tartare was delicious but really small and my main of linefish (yellowtail) was a bit overcooked. The steaks weren't served hot enough and my husband's pasta was also lukewarm/bordering on cold. The steak tartare was lovely but again, tiny with the pork belly special probably the best dish. I was disappointed because every meal I've previously had at Sixteen82 has been spectacular or bordering on it. It still wasn't bad, but didn't stand up by comparison.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandyCadiz-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    198
    68
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
566 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“Wine tasting with some starters”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I was visiting Steenberg Winery as part of a recommendation of places to do a tasting, and let me tell you the wine was excellent. I decided that while enjoying a glass that I wold have a starter at the restaurant attached to the tasting room. I can't do a full review on the food or service since I just had one item and was sitting at the bar. But from what I saw, I would go back to try a full coursed meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great location, well worth a visit”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We visited last year in January and it was so good we went back this trip. Great location in a well designed space. Very nice interior design and with seating inside and out you have good options.
Food simple but very well presented and a great wine selection.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 362MichaelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A very special place in the Cape”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

What a find, and not the normal million mile drive from Cape Town to sample the delights of great food on a wine estate. The food is really good, the wine exceptional and the setting sublime. The perfect setting for a restaurant. We ate outside, the staff are very attentive and friendly, Sean McGuigan made us feel very relaxed and at home. Good service, great food and wine and a wonderful lunch time experience

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffurson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Loved it again”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Been here before but wanted our son and his girlfriend to experience it. We didn't have a reservation. Our hotel had tried earlier in the morning to book us in but no luck. We were passing a little later than expected so popped in on the off chance. We were told a table could be ready in about 30 minutes, would we mind waiting. We were told we could go and sit on the lawn and wait if we wanted to. So, what other way to spend the time waiting for a table than sitting on the lawn with a perfectly chilled bottle of rosé. Bistro 1682 provide picnic blankets and there are umbrellas on the lawn for shade - bliss. After what must have been only 15 minutes we were advised our table was ready. Off we trotted with our bottle of rosé into the restaurant, ordered drinks and that was that. Waitress returned to the table and told us that as we'd purchased the bottle of wine outside the restaurant then they would have to charge corkage - corkage for a screw top bottle - strange! We found this a little unfair as the bottle was purchased only a few metes from our table. Bill arrived, with corkage added and it turns out it would have been cheaper to leave the bottle outside and purchase a fresh one from the table. Grumble over. Please do not let that put you off. The location is stunning, the atmosphere is fun - all sorts of groups of people. Food is excellent, what more could you want really. Corkage for a bottle of wine purchased on site, taken to the table will not put us off visiting again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Sixteen82 also viewed

 
Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to Bistro Sixteen82? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing