We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place I have stayed!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dongola Guest House
Ranked #1 of 40 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We stayed at the Dongola House for the second time in February 2010, and again we had a fantastic experience. The location is superb, the room and services amazing. The atmosphere is relaxed, the food is great, and they will do everything to make your stay comfertable. We will always stay at Dongola House in Cape Town, and look forward to going back.
Thanks
Frode

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frequenttravelerSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 461 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2010

This small guest house is the best place I have EVER stayed in. The location is fabulous, the couple who own it, and the chap who manages it, are three of the most helpful, pleasant and welcoming people I have met in a very long time.

Our room was excellent ... and the double bed was absolutly massive (must've been at least 7ft long 'cos my feet didn't hang over the end and I'm well over 6ft tall!) The en-suite shower room was very well presented, and all of this was extremely clean.

I can't pick out one particular thing and say that was the best thing about this stay because everything was totally fabulous ... and the worst part was having to leave to come home

(Apologies to Mike and Sally for taking soooo long to post this review but my laptop died the day after we got home, and I have only just replaced it within the last 2 days!)

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mroconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2010

Hi Mike, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Dongola Guest House but even more pleased you enjoyed the world cup. Thanks for taking the time to review usand hopefully when you come next time Sally and I will be here to meet you in person. Kind Regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Dongola House was an extremely well presented and comfortable guest house in the Constantia area of Cape Town. Sally, Mike and Peter were most welcoming and provided an excellent level of service. The beds were comfortable and allowed a good night’s sleep in spite of my chronic illness. The breakfast both from the buffet and the hot food menu were of high nutritional value and of high quality for both freshness and presentation.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bandit600Witney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2010

Dear Bandit, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at DongolaGuest House, we do promote our beds as the best in Cape Town to sleep in and love it when a guest so whole heartedly agrees. Thank you so much for the review and the next time you come on a tour hope you choose to stay with us. Kind Regards, Mike Sally and Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

We have travelled the world for over 30 years and have seen a lot of very charming places. Dongola House is one of our favorite guest houses in the Cape area. The warm welcome of Sally, Mike and Peter makes you feel like coming home. We love the delicious breakfast served in the pool area with a stunning view to the mountains. We will hopefully be back soon.

Daniel and Brigitte, Switzerland

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank DanielandBrigitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2010

Dear Daniel and Brigitte, we are so pleased we have become one of your favourites and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for the stunning review. Mike, Sally and Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Service, comfort and stunning location are comprable with the best the country has to offer.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmytp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2010

Dear James, knowing what are well travelled member of the media you are; your comment " Comparable with the best the country has to offer" was fine praise indeed thank you very much. Mike Sally and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We couldn't have felt more at home right down to the breakfast marmalade. Mike Sally and Peter were there when needed and absent when privacy was the sought. We found the relaxing atmosphere ideal after hectic days of running around " doing it all "
We will definately go again

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbiMargate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2010

Dear Robert, we are glad you and your gorgeous daughters enjoyed your stay with us. Please come again and give us the chance to change you perception of us from very good to excellent. Kind regards, Mike and Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

if you are looking for a place to stay where you can maintain your privacy, in comfortable luxurious rooms, with magnificent un-interrupted views of the Cape mountains and the most amazing pool deck for sundowners, with top drawer hosts, then this is truly a wonderful gem sitting in constantia. one is not prepared for how beautiful this guest house is when you drive through the gates. one is 5 minutes away from shoppings malls, winelands, first class restaurants, the V&A waterfront, table mountain etc.
we felt right at home from the moment we drove in and the house lends itself to just making yourself at home. Sally, Mike and their staff have got the right formula for doing what they do best, being perfect hosts.
i highly recommend dongola house and look forward to staying there again next time i visit cape town. i had to leave one day early and missed out on a wonderful party.. its the sort of place that you never want to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,430 reviews
The Cellars-Hohenort
#3 of 5 in Constantia
436 reviews
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 40 in Constantia
303 reviews
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 81 in Somerset West
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongola Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongola Guest House

Address: 30 Airlie Place, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range: $75 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dongola Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the tranquil Constantia Valley (Cape Town's vineyard) and bordering onto the Grootboschkloof River Walk, a small managed nature reserve with stunning views of Constantiaberg mountain, part of Table Mountain National park. Surrounded by 9 vineyards including the 330 year old Groot Constantia, friendly pubs, superb restaurants, from easy eating to fine dining, golf courses and the magnificent Kirstenbosch botanical gardens. With the M3 Highway only three kilometres away you are minutes, by car, from the V & A Waterfront, Table Mountain, Robben Island, The International Convention Centre both Greenpoint and Newlands stadia or the spectacular beaches of the Indian and Atlantic Ocean seaboards with their quaint quirky villages and hip and happening restaurants; as well as the Central Business Districts of Cape Town, Tokai and Retreat. We are a very convenient base for the American Consulate. We can offer King size, Queen size or Twin, extra length beds with fine percale linen, en-suite bathrooms/shower rooms with bathrobes and eco friendly complimentary bath products, in eight comfortable rooms. Our scrumptious a la carte breakfast menu, can be taken in the tranquil landscaped gardens next to the 9m long solar heated pool or in the cosy dining room both with views of Table Mountain National Park .Graded 4 stars by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa, 2015 Readers Choice Award by Tripadvisor, 2015 Best 4 Star Guesthouse, Western Cape South African Tourism "Lilizela" Awards. The first guest house in Africa to be Classified "Gold" by Greenline Responsible Tourism Rating Programme a Member of Cape Town Tourism and the Constantia Valley Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Dongola Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongola Guest House Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing