We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dongola Guest House
Ranked #1 of 40 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed at Dongola House for one night in Cape Town before embarking on a safari through Botswana and Zambia. It was such a peaceful and nourishing start to my trip! Attention to detail, thought and care was evident throughout. Having been involved in the hospitality industry for many years, I can say that the warm service and ease with which this lovely guest house flows is so rewarding. I stayed in a beautiful room with a courtyard and a very decadent bath! It had everything I could want for. It is 3 minutes by car from the historic Constantia winelands - great wine, excellent restaurants. The only downside was that it was just for one night! I will be back to stay at this perfect little haven in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KezMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Wow what a great review and it means a lot coming from an Industry professional such as yourself. We hope you had a good safari and look forward to welcoming you back to our "perfect little haven" in the near future. Thank you so much Mike and Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Dongola Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 445 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here as the first leg of our 2 week tour of the Western Cape. I chose Dongola after looking at various locations and options, but wanted somewhere away from Cape Town central. Dongola did not dissapoint. Mike and Sally were excellent, informative hosts giving us many tips on where to go what to do/see and where to eat.
The location is superb and everything about Dongola is top quality, highly reccommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

what can i say so glad you found us. The Constantia whilst not quite a secret is often overlooked when people choose cape Town but we think we are perfectly located for exploring the various attractions the Peninisula has to offer. Hope the rest of your journey was fun and exciting. Thank you for the lovely review, warm regards, Mike and Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife,daughter,grandson 2 yr old and I stayed for 4 nights.We used the 2 bedroom apartment which had everything that was needed.The kitchen was a must in warming bottles of milk and the extra space for him to run around was excellent.Breakfast was cooked to order.We ate on the patio with great views.A big thank you for the help in sorting out our huge problem with our hire car - think twice about budget carhire.The staff were excellent in all areas,our washing came back neatly pressed and the little things,the welcome drink by a roaring fire,the bed,oh the bed was the most comfortable in the three weeks we spent in the western cape.Thank you Sally and Mike.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billywiz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write this wonderful review. We are so glad you and your family had a good stay with us and that our brand new Kitchenette proved useful. We take pride in our mattresses as they are all orthopedic with cushion tops and extra length. Hope the rest of your trip was uneventful from a care hire perspective. warm regards, Mike and Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Was a fantastic quaint little place to stay in after a long flight and the service was really great as well! Nice and quiet surroundings but not too far from the shops either. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Paing M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. it's the first time we have been called quaint but thank you for the compliment.We have always thought of ourselves as a little bit hotel and a little bit home. Warm regards, Mike and Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We recently stayed here for 2 nights on our first visit to South Africa. Easy to find from the airport, a good welcome and excellent room and breakfast. The weather was cold when we arrived and, although the heating was on, a thoughtful hot water bottle had also been provided! Very secure accommodation and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your great review. So pleased that we were able to impress you on your first visit. The hot water bottles are rarely used but we have had an unusually chilly winter and thought they would compliment the heating and goose down duvets.Warm regards, Mike and Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

A perfect stay at Dongola....Sally and Mike were the perfect hosts and the staff could not of been more helpful. Dongola is the perfect stay. The rooms are immaculate as is the house itself. The views are just as perfect. I highly recommend, I would go back tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review it is much appreciated. We are glad you had a good stay with us and enjoyed Cape Town enough to come back and if you do you know where to stay. Warm regards, Mike and Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Absolutely superb stay at Dongola. Mike and Sally were away but we were looked after very well by Inge and Natalie. Beautiful location, fantastic food and great personal touches. Inge very kindly organised a birthday breakfast for me when we were there and as usual, we were cooked a fantastic selection of food by Natalie. When we left, my fiancé forgot her hair straighteners and Mike and Sally were kind enough to post them back to England. Will highly recommend to others and definitely be back when we are next in Cape Town. Thank you again Dongola team!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank BrissyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We have fowarded your compliments on to Inge and shown it to Natalie who is brimming with pride. Glad your belongings made it home safely.Warm regards, Mike and Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
2.1 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
497 reviews
7.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
9.3 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
0.5 mi away
Summit Place Guesthouse
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 40 in Constantia
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongola Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongola Guest House

Address: 30 Airlie Place, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range: $74 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dongola Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the tranquil Constantia Valley (Cape Town's vineyard) and bordering onto the Grootboschkloof River Walk, a small managed nature reserve with stunning views of Constantiaberg mountain, part of Table Mountain National park. Surrounded by 9 vineyards including the 330 year old Groot Constantia, friendly pubs, superb restaurants, from easy eating to fine dining, golf courses and the magnificent Kirstenbosch botanical gardens. With the M3 Highway only three kilometres away you are minutes, by car, from the V & A Waterfront, Table Mountain, Robben Island, The International Convention Centre both Greenpoint and Newlands stadia or the spectacular beaches of the Indian and Atlantic Ocean seaboards with their quaint quirky villages and hip and happening restaurants; as well as the Central Business Districts of Cape Town, Tokai and Retreat. We are a very convenient base for the American Consulate. We can offer King size, Queen size or Twin, extra length beds with fine percale linen, en-suite bathrooms/shower rooms with bathrobes and eco friendly complimentary bath products, in eight comfortable rooms. Our scrumptious a la carte breakfast menu, can be taken in the tranquil landscaped gardens next to the 9m long solar heated pool or in the cosy dining room both with views of Table Mountain National Park .Graded 4 stars by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa, 2015 Readers Choice Award by Tripadvisor, 2015 Best 4 Star Guesthouse, Western Cape South African Tourism "Lilizela" Awards. The first guest house in Africa to be Classified "Gold" by Greenline Responsible Tourism Rating Programme a Member of Cape Town Tourism and the Constantia Valley Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Dongola Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongola Guest House Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing