We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dongola Guest House
Ranked #1 of 40 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Dongola House during a recent vacation to Cape Town. Our experience--as other travelers have mentioned--was fantastic. Mike and Sally go above and beyond the normal levels of service to make you feel comfortable, cared for, and genuinely "at home." One morning, for example, my wife and I headed out at 5:30am for a Great White Shark cage diving trip. Mike and Sally gave us a great breakfast to go--and even let us borrow their travel thermos so we could drink hot coffee on our early morning drive to the dock. It's these little things that really count. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanhoneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for the great review. We do try to be a little bit home and a little bit hotel and a breakfast on the go with hot coffee is the least we can do for intrepid shark cage divers. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Warm regards, Mike and Sally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Dongola Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 445 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were delighted by the quality of the accommodation , and enjoyed the superb views of the Constantiaberg from the beautiful indigenous garden. Our hosts Sally and Mike were always helpful and their long experience in the hospitality industry ensures a pleasant stay. The variety of breakfast options was noteworthy. The room was top class with every need from wi-fi to an umbrella catered for .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted_Cally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We obviously cannot take credit for the Constantiaberg Mountain view but it always pleasing to hear that our breakfast menu is appreciated. Warm regards Mike and Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My family (husband, 8 month old and grandma) and I stayed for 5 nights at Dongola. We stayed in the suite and twin room which were both attached to our own private lounge. It was perfect for us with our own privacy but added security and company of Sally and Mike next door. Location was perfect - we went walking most evenings with Dongola dogs. Breakfast was delicious and varied. We plan to stay on our next visit to Cape Town.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Kim0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear All, thank you for taking the time to write this stunning review. The Guest Walking Department, as the Dongola Dogs are known, are often a hit with guests. They fit in with our Green ethos as both are recycled dogs Sasha being a retired service dog and Sam a rescue. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Mike, Sally, Sasha and Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. Sally cooked for us great dinner at first night. Breakfast was awesome. Finally something different like eggs :-) Sally and Mike are very helpfully. If you want to plan your trip and you need help, feel free to ask them. They help you kindly.
Thank you for nice days in your great place.
Richard and Jane

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Richard and Jane thank you for the lovely compliments, we love Cape Town and try as best as we can to give all of our guests a good experience of it. Glad you enjoyed your stay especially the food. Warm regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

A delightful place run by well organised and very friendly owners. Comfortable and well equipped rooms - free wi-fi and high speed internet access a big plus. Add to that the superb breakfasts.
This place is hard to fault, and the experience was improved when I had my Mac charger posted back to Australia.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you so much for the lovely review. The free wifi has proved to be a popular service we offer and has led to an increase in chargers being left behind, you are not alone and we are pleased you got it back safely. Warm regards, Mike and Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in February. We found Dongola through TripAdvisor and can quite understand why it's rated number 1 in Constantia. Sally and Mike are great hosts for whom nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The breakfasts were delicious and the gardens and pool beautifully kept, all making for a restful stay.

Room Tip: We had the room next to the one at the end (see review below) which was a bit further away from the...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMGSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and for appreciative guests nothing is ever too much trouble. Thank you so much for the review. Warm regards,Mike and Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Beautiful location with room views across to the mountains. Peaceful, clean and friendly service. Good quality healthy breakfasts. Well located with quick access to Cape Town city and over the mountain to the Simonstown side. We had the room at the bottom of the garden with dual-aspect windows- great views to wake up to. Would have no hesitation staying here again.

Room Tip: Last room at the end (bottom) has dual-aspect windows, probably has the best views and open feel.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darwin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you so much for the lovely review. It was great to be able to welcome you back to South Africa and Cape Town in particular and we hope you will visit the country again. Warm regards, Mike and Sally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
2.1 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
497 reviews
7.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
9.3 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
0.5 mi away
Summit Place Guesthouse
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 40 in Constantia
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongola Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongola Guest House

Address: 30 Airlie Place, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range: $74 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dongola Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the tranquil Constantia Valley (Cape Town's vineyard) and bordering onto the Grootboschkloof River Walk, a small managed nature reserve with stunning views of Constantiaberg mountain, part of Table Mountain National park. Surrounded by 9 vineyards including the 330 year old Groot Constantia, friendly pubs, superb restaurants, from easy eating to fine dining, golf courses and the magnificent Kirstenbosch botanical gardens. With the M3 Highway only three kilometres away you are minutes, by car, from the V & A Waterfront, Table Mountain, Robben Island, The International Convention Centre both Greenpoint and Newlands stadia or the spectacular beaches of the Indian and Atlantic Ocean seaboards with their quaint quirky villages and hip and happening restaurants; as well as the Central Business Districts of Cape Town, Tokai and Retreat. We are a very convenient base for the American Consulate. We can offer King size, Queen size or Twin, extra length beds with fine percale linen, en-suite bathrooms/shower rooms with bathrobes and eco friendly complimentary bath products, in eight comfortable rooms. Our scrumptious a la carte breakfast menu, can be taken in the tranquil landscaped gardens next to the 9m long solar heated pool or in the cosy dining room both with views of Table Mountain National Park .Graded 4 stars by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa, 2015 Readers Choice Award by Tripadvisor, 2015 Best 4 Star Guesthouse, Western Cape South African Tourism "Lilizela" Awards. The first guest house in Africa to be Classified "Gold" by Greenline Responsible Tourism Rating Programme a Member of Cape Town Tourism and the Constantia Valley Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Dongola Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongola Guest House Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing