We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dongola Guest House
Ranked #1 of 40 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at Dongla House. Both Sally & Mike were excellent hosts
; the room and house lovely; fantastic views and a great breakfast. We couldn't have asked for a better stay and we'd recommend this guest house to anyone.

Room Tip: Garden rooms, separate from the main house are lovely.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Stacey, thank you for your review it was lovely having you here, glad you had good stay and enjoyed the very popular garden room with it's mountain view.Warm regards Mike and Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Dongola Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 445 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a wonderful guest house, Sally and Mike are friendly and very accommodating.
The breakfast are always yummy and the views are spectacular.
We will be looking forward to returning next year.
Thank you Mike and Sally it was a pleasure being in your home.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Laura, thank you for taking the time to write this review. Glad you enjoyed,our breakfast views and your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Mike and Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Beautiful area, neat and luxury rooms with on-suite bathroom. Pool and patio with a great view, the owners, Michael and Sally very friendly and informative. Safe parking next to the rooms.
Continental breakfast buffet, with fresh fresh fresh fruit salad, with cooked options on offer, including blueberry flapjacks! Really good botomless coffee...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swissgabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Gabi, thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. made even more special considering your background in tourism hope we can welcome you back in the future. warm regards, Mike and Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The glowing reviews just keep flowing and this is one to add to the pile. It's hard to get a measure of just how well run a place is until things (outside of the guest house owners control) go wrong.

The whole property was without water on 26th Dec 2012 (which is a holiday day in South Africa). This was due to an unscheduled water main leak up the road. Yet despite this, completely unprompted, we found two large buckets of fresh water waiting for us outside our door for our use. That is way better than most 5* hotels manage with similar problems.

We had the Suite adjoined to the Inside Twin en-suite and were travelling as a family with two boys aged 5 and 2. We stayed for a week (although each parent arrived with each child on different days) as part of a 2 week stay in Cape Town.

Those two booked together make a very good apartment for a family. The microwave and fridge is easily enough to see you through one meal in the apartment per day. There aren't any views from the apartment, but it's just a very small stroll to the pool and garden through the main house - we found it no problem to go swimming on most days.

I got the genuine impression nothing was too much trouble for Mike and Sally. The offers of help and assistance were genuine and plentiful - even over the Christmas period. It's clear they really enjoy what they do and take great pride in doing it well. You really know this is the case when the owner is the one who comes to close the blinds in the rooms on Christmas Eve.

Breakfast was excellent. Our boys were given small plates of bits and pieces from the menu - essentially whatever they wanted. A nice touch as often lots of food goes to waste otherwise.

It's often hard to find good accommodation which is suitable when you have young children, but this worked really well for us.

Would we consider staying again if we are back in Cape Town - most definitely.

Jon, Helen, Daniel and George.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonWB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Jon, Thank you so much for taking the trouble and time to write a review, it was fine praise indeed. We do try to go the extra mile and when things do not work like they are supposed to then the old adage "Boere mak a Plan" (farmer has a solution) comes in to play. We are due to get a brand spanking new water main soon so I doubt we will have a water problem again. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday, warm regards, Mike and Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Everything written in all the other very positive reviews turns out to be true and it would be hard to add much to that here.

Already when entering the guesthouse, we had a wonderful sense of peace and tranquil, in a very pretty setting with views to die for. The grounds are lovely, loads of space to relax in the gardens, the pool or on the own terraces and admire the views across the countryside and back of table mountain and silvermine park.

One immediately feels the special atmosphere and notices that Sally & Mike make everything ready with love of the detail. It’s their pleasure and you’re always welcomed and from our impression, more as a friend than as a paying customer.

The room (no. 3) was the perfect one for us, with great views and an own terrace with deckchairs and umbrella. Nice equipped, very quiet and provided with a lot of small gratuit details (e.g. tea, coffee, cookies, water, wifi, bathrobes, bath-cosmetics, etc.).

We’re impressed about the “magic” in the background. Whenever you left the room and came back, small things happened ;-) A lot of good spirits left their footprints e.g. bed was prepared for the night, fan was putted “on”, clothes were sorted, curtains drawed, water filled up, etc.

Also the other services were unique. Sally & Mike endeavor to make your stay as perfect as possible. They give tailor made recommendations and have always ideas or tips, in any field of interest.

We’ve got a lot of material and proposals for our hiking-tours in the surroundings and we were impressed how many great possibilities they offered.Unforgattable for us was the silvermine hike to the elephant’s eye cave, the lion head climbing or the hike via Platteklip Gorge the table mountain.

Breakfast, honesty-bar, living-room and all other facilities in and the guesthouse were at its best, well-groomed and always very clean.

Additional to that, the guesthouse has the perfect location. We’ve visted Cape Town several times before and would never stay again directly in the city center.

Dongola House is quite located in a very nice side road and safe area. We never felt insecure or in danger. Nevertheless, you reach a lot of (great!) restaurants, shops, highways and attractions within some minutes by car.

We’ll come back again and recommend this accommodation to everyone who would like to visit Cape Town and the Cape Region.

Thanks Mike and Sally, for the great stay and nice moments, the birthday cake and wine tasting trip. The last wonderful 2 week staying with you, help us to survive our terrible grey winter in germany ;-)

Looking forward to our next visit.

There’s in fact not better place to be!

Nicole & Frank

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Frank and Nicole, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and wonderful review. We are so glad you had such a good stay here. The little things you mention are just part of our philosophy of being a little bit home and a little bit hotel. Next year you can join us on our traditional New Years day hike up to the Elephants Eye Cave. Warm regards, Mike and Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We spent 2 nights here at the end of our visit to The Cape. This is a lovely guest house in a quiet and safe residential road in Constantia.
The guest house was upgraded to a very high standard a couple of years ago by the current owners Mike and Sally who live on the premises. We stayed in a garden room, detached from the main house and set in the beautiful garden. The room was finished to a very high standard and very comfortable. Some nice small touches in the room such as the international plug sockets, bottled water, tea tray (and safe).
We really enjoyed breakfasting on the stoep and it was nice to have the choice of some different things in addition to the usual 'full English' - french toast, kippers or even eggs benedict were offered. I also appreciated the cafetiere of fresh coffee at breakfast.
Mike and Sally are excellent hosts offering advice on where to eat (there are a lot of good restaurants within a few km of Dongola) and Mike was also kind enough to give us a lift on a couple of occasions.
We enjoyed sitting in the garden and using the pool and it was a lovely touch when Sally brought a jug of water out to us.
Mike and Sally are very environmentally aware and the guest house is run taking this into consideration without compromising on quality and comfort.
It was a shame we were only able to stay for the last couple of nights at the end of our holiday and we look forward to staying on our next visit to South Africa and also for longer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkandJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you so much for this wonderful review we are so glad you enjoyed you short visit with us. Just a small correction on your very detailed review we don't do eggs benedict but we do have six other items on the menu. Hope to see you again and for longer so we can share Cape Town with you. Warm regards,
Mike and Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Dongola House is a super b & b in a quiet road in Constantia. We booked it as we wanted somewhere to stay for a night as we were eating in La Colombe restaurant. But you could equally use Dongola House for a longer stay as a base to explore the Cape Town area. It is very comfortable - the rooms are well appointed with all mod cons and large comfortable beds, the garden/pool area is beautiful and the breakfast delicious. The owners are very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. They know the area well and will advise on local activities. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonRob1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write the lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us. As you mentioned we are ideally situated not only for famous restaurants such as La Calombe but also for the many other attractions the Cape is renowned for. Warm regards, Mike and Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
2.1 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
497 reviews
7.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
9.3 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
0.5 mi away
Summit Place Guesthouse
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 40 in Constantia
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongola Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongola Guest House

Address: 30 Airlie Place, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range: $74 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dongola Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the tranquil Constantia Valley (Cape Town's vineyard) and bordering onto the Grootboschkloof River Walk, a small managed nature reserve with stunning views of Constantiaberg mountain, part of Table Mountain National park. Surrounded by 9 vineyards including the 330 year old Groot Constantia, friendly pubs, superb restaurants, from easy eating to fine dining, golf courses and the magnificent Kirstenbosch botanical gardens. With the M3 Highway only three kilometres away you are minutes, by car, from the V & A Waterfront, Table Mountain, Robben Island, The International Convention Centre both Greenpoint and Newlands stadia or the spectacular beaches of the Indian and Atlantic Ocean seaboards with their quaint quirky villages and hip and happening restaurants; as well as the Central Business Districts of Cape Town, Tokai and Retreat. We are a very convenient base for the American Consulate. We can offer King size, Queen size or Twin, extra length beds with fine percale linen, en-suite bathrooms/shower rooms with bathrobes and eco friendly complimentary bath products, in eight comfortable rooms. Our scrumptious a la carte breakfast menu, can be taken in the tranquil landscaped gardens next to the 9m long solar heated pool or in the cosy dining room both with views of Table Mountain National Park .Graded 4 stars by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa, 2015 Readers Choice Award by Tripadvisor, 2015 Best 4 Star Guesthouse, Western Cape South African Tourism "Lilizela" Awards. The first guest house in Africa to be Classified "Gold" by Greenline Responsible Tourism Rating Programme a Member of Cape Town Tourism and the Constantia Valley Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Dongola Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongola Guest House Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing