We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dongola Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Last Word Constantia(Constantia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tudor Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Steenberg Hotel(Constantia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveler rating
474
8
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
474
8
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmike and sallyb bcape townguest housegreat hostsguinea fowlevery respectperfect place to stayattention to detailviews of the mountainsa wonderful stayrooms are spaciouseach morninggarden roomglass of winebeautiful locationlonger stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
373 - 378 of 483 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Dongola House is fantastic. The building itself is comfy and welcoming. The bed and pillows were superb. The bathtub was spacious and clean... (the shower was a shower).

The people that run Dongola House Mike, Sally,and Peter become like family from the minute you check in. We stayed for 8 nights in Dongola House and explored Cape Town and the peninsula from there. Every morning we would wander pool side and have a bowl of fresh fruit and yogurt and pot of coffee and stare off into the fabulous view of Elephant's eye and the valley in between. Then we would set the day by having any choice of cooked hot breakfasts pool side, get advice of local places to eat and visit and off we'd go to explore.

We had never been to South Africa and planning the trip seemed a bit daunting from the UK. But Karen at the local Constantia tourist board recommended Dongola House and the worry started slipping away from then.

I would most definitely recommend Dongola House and miss seeing Mike and Sally and Peter each morning. They really make your travel enjoyable and stress free. When you need them they are available and go out of their way to make sure your trip goes as smoothly as possible.

Room Tip: Re fitness centre- South Africa IS your fitness center and Mike, Sally and Peter will help you plan any kind of activity you are after! And the pool is lovely!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mle_webb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongola Guest H, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Wow Emily, what a fantastic review. We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday so much and have thanked Karen at Constantia Valley Association for recommending us to you. I would also like to personally thank you for donating a tree on our Givengain site and assure you we will plant your tree in Zambia with extra care and again for taking the time to review us, warm regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Truly beautiful B&B accommodation in an incredible setting. 5 star accommodation and 5 star care. The garden, the pool, the room and the breakfast were all perfect but I think what really made our stay memorable was that despite my boyfriend suddenly taking ill the evening we stayed there (we think a little poisoning from him dangling in a shark cage off the back of a boat in chum infested water earlier that day) was the care and concern given by Peter, Mike and Sally, who very kindly allowed us to keep the room much longer then we had planned that day so that my boyfriend, then bed ridden could rest and recover and would not accept any payment whatsoever for this. My only regret is that due to having to fly back we couldn't stay longer and explore this beautiful area longer and enjoy another night at this B&B - it is a definite must for wine lovers and dare I say (we liked Constantia more than Stellenbosch but its a must to do both! and if you are then stay at the beautiful Dongola House). We will return!

Room Tip: Our Room (almost like an individual chalet in the garden) was beautiful, spacious with its own private little patio area and lovely shower room.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongola Guest H, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2012

Dear Susan, Thank you for taking the time out to write such a lovely review. It was such a shame that your young man was so sick glad we could leave him in peace for a few hours, we only had guests due in later that night so we had time to get the room ready once you had gone. We do hope his journey was not a nightmare. Well at least he now has to come back and go up Table Mountain, just let us know when you are ready! Warm regards, Mike, Sally and Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Wonderful place, that has pitched perfectly the relaxed nature of a B&B, with the professionalism of a v. good hotel.
If you don't know Cape Town, Dongola is located in the suburb of Constantia, which is away from the wind and the crowds of the Atlantic Seaboard. You cant see the sea, but the views of the mountains are superb and you are a stones throw from Constantia Village and some great wine farms and their associated restaurants (La Colombe/The Green House etc etc etc).
Dongola itself is ideally located within Constantia (between Peddlars and Uitsig). Facilities cant be faulted, stunning private garden (must be even better, when the lavender is in flower), wonderful views, great pool, rooms and patio - all immaculately maintained. But better still are the staff - as mentioned, it's ran so well and you are really made to feel at home. There is a really nice balance between professionalism and the personal touch......I think there are few places where you know all the staff's first names after a couple of days. All there are worthy of commendation, but a special thanks to Peter for all his help. Loved it and will be actively recommending. I think in particular, if you have never been to Cape Town, this is a perfect place to stay....that said I plan to return (and I know many stay here each visit, if there is room). Keep up the good work.....

Room Tip: Garden rooms are a little more private....while still very safe and secure
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fotherini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongola Guest H, Manager at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2012

Dear David, wow I think you should take up marketing copy writing as a proffesion! What a fantastic review thank you for taking the time to write it. You also summed up the essence of our place "a little bit home, a little bit hotel" great views and convenient for all the Cape has to offer. Thanks for the promise of a recommendation and hope to welcome you and the family back one day. Warm regards, Mike, Sally, Peter, Rochelle and of course Fiona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

A beautiful property, lovely rooms, magnificent views, tasty breakfasts and great hosts! All the sights of the Cape Peninsula are within easy reach. The guest rooms are nicely decorated and are fitted with all amenities. Breakfast can be enjoyed on the terrace with tranquil views of the Constantia Mountain. If you need advice on what to do, Sally, Mike or Peter will gladly help you. We will return on our next visit to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Manager at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Dear Markus and Anna thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for the wonderful compliments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and please know that you are you are always welcome to visit again. Thank you also for purchasing the Greenpop trees which we will be planting in Zambia in July ,you have not only reduced your travel carbon impact but will help us restore a magnificent forest. Warm regards, MIke Sally and Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Dongola Guest house during January 2012. The accommodation facilities were spacious and of the highest standard with beautifully decorated rooms where all your needs have been anticipated. Breakfasts on the terrace was an absolute treat for us as a family due to the beautiful scenery & setting and the lovely food. The kids loved spending time in the pool and I enjoyed being able sit and watch them but still get on with work on the terrace as wireless facilities were readily available. The management and staff quietly go about making sure that you are well taken care of and made us feel right at home. The view is just amazing - from the property you look over the Constantia mountains and can watch the horses on neighbouring properties while relaxing on the property. I can HIGHLY recommend staying at Dongola House and I can assure you that you will experience a great stay and great hospitality!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatashaRudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Dear Natasha, thankyou for taking the time to write such a desciptive review, I think you summed up what we are trying to be " alittle bit home , a little bit hotel" . The property wide free internet access has been very well received by both new and returning guests but as you noticed it is the mountain views we are best remembered for. Hope to see you and your family again sometime. Warm regards, Mike Sally and Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews