We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful first stop in South Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Klein Bosheuwel Guest House
Ranked #4 of 40 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Both the location and people are splendid. I arrived in Cape Town mid-morning from an overnight flight from London, worrying I'd have to hang about, exhausted, before being let into a room. But no, my hosts swept aside my anxieties, sat me down with a cup of tea in front of a warm fire, and then ushered me into a delightfully clean, comfortable room with one of the nicest views you could imagine. Tim, Nicki, their assistant Ida, and their staff couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful. You'll really feel at home here. Kirstenbosch Gardens (my favorite in the world) are a short walk from the front door. For other destinations, Klein Bosheuwel is best suited to those with cars, though as a pedestrian I managed just fine with taxis (and Ida will help you in this regard too). Oh, and make sure you allow time in your schedule for the best breakfast you'll enjoy in South Africa!

Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
Thank DennisDanielson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 113 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2010

We discovered Klein Bosheuwel a number of years ago after many holidays in South Africa and Cape Town and we have never looked back. We are looking forward to our upcoming visit with our three children and my father this Easter. We would normally like to try out different hotels on holidays but have not been able to tear ourselves away from the warm welcome provided by Nicki, Tim and all the team at Klein Bosheuwel.

Nothing seems to be too much trouble for our hosts and they have taken our children on walks with the gentle and friendly dogs, organised babysitting and taxis, provided guided hikes up Table Mountain, toys for our children and great recommendations of restaurants and things to do in the Cape.

The guest houses are located beside Kirstenbosch Gardens at the foot of Table Mountain with stunning views over the Constantia Winelands, Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean beyond. It is within easy reach of the City and all attractions on the Cape Peninsula.

The extensive gardens are beautifully maintained, contain two swimming pools and provide both a haven of tranquility and an adventure playground for exploring by small people!

Delicious breakfasts will set you up for the day and are enjoyed in a lazy fashion. We have enjoyed many interesting conversations with various guests in the friendly atmosphere over breakfast. We have noticed that many guests like ourselves return again and again and guests have included honeymooning couples, families with young and teenage children, retired couples and friends on holiday.

Having children, we have mostly stayed in the self catering cottage but can also recommend the beautifully apppointed rooms in the adjoining guest house.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishHolidaylovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Great atmosphere, made to feel one of the family rather than a guest. All the other reviewers have already said how good it is. It is!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Klein Bosheuwel Guest House is perfectly located within easy reach of the main sights and tourist destinations of Cape Town, the surrounding areas and winelands. It has spectacular views of Table Mountain and stunning scenery including Kirstenbosch botanical gardens.
There is a range of accommodation available depending on your needs. Ranging from a self catered cottage to bed and breakfast. All the rooms were very clean and serviced daily by friendly and helpful staff. Our bedroom had super king size bed and en suite fitted out with walk in shower and bath.
Our young children were made very welcome and provided with suitable toys etc.
There was plenty of secure parking, 2/3 acres of garden with swimming pool and tennis court.
The serivce was excellent and our host and hostess were attentive to all our needs. We were provided with baby sitters, maps, taxis, bookings and ideas of places to visit.
Breakafast was made to order and provided choices to suit us all both adults and children.
There was round the clock security.
We couldn't fault any part of our stay and would defintiely recommend to friends. Visit the website to see photographs of the accommodation available.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1London1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

100% , welcome
100%, hospitality
100% , comfort
100% , furnishings
100% , friendliness
100% , tranquility
100% , appearance
100% , flexibility
100% , accommodation
100% , location
100% , breakfasts
100% , service

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitchelld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

My partner and I recently stayed at the Klein Bosheuwel Guest House in Constantia, and it was a wonderfully welcoming place to stay. With delicious breakfasts, stunning gardens and swimming pool at the foot of table mountain, and the beautiful Kirstenbosch botanical gardens merely a couple of minutes walk away for a sunset stroll, it was the perfect end to our trip to SA.
However, what really makes Klein Bosheuwel special, are the hosts, Nicki and Tim (and their fabulous team of helpers), who really do make you feel part of the guest house family - nothing is too much trouble, and they made our stay a very memorable one.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R1000London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

Having just spent two weeks at Klein Bosheuwel with my wife, our ninth such visit over the last twelve years, and having been introduced to TripAdvisor, I want to explain why this has become for us, and so many like us, a favourite holiday haunt. The beautifully appointed and sublimely comfortable accommodation is provided mainly in two residences situated in their own grounds, each with a swimming pool, off a quiet residential road just a three minute walk from the famed Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens. The mountain views are spectacular and the location is with in easy driving distance of the city and surrounding attractions together with a wide selection of fine restaurants.
We have stayed at many first class guest houses in South Africa and, with delightfully friendly helpful staff and scrumtious breakfasts, Klein Bosheuwel is no exception; what makes it so special is the relaxed family atmosphere engendered by the owners, Nicki Scarborough and her husband Tim. They take a close personal interest in their guests and are wonderfully entertaining hosts. Many visitors have been coming, like us, year after year and have become enduring friends not only of Tim and Nicki but of each other. I cannot recommend it too highly.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaknhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Constantia hotels
3.1 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
2.9 mi away
Summit Place Guesthouse
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 40 in Constantia
319 reviews
2.7 mi away
14 on Klein Constantia
14 on Klein Constantia
#11 of 40 in Constantia
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Dongola Guest House
Dongola Guest House
#1 of 40 in Constantia
466 reviews
5.3 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
512 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#3 of 5 in Constantia
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klein Bosheuwel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klein Bosheuwel Guest House

Address: 51A Klaassens Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range: $112 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Klein Bosheuwel Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Klein Bosheuwel Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klein Bosheuwel Guest House Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing