We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made me feel at home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Klein Bosheuwel Guest House
Ranked #5 of 38 Constantia B&B and Inns
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Made me feel at home”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Thanks to Nicki and Tim, I felt like I was staying at an uncle's house (albeit a wealthy uncle with gorgeous gardens, who lives 9000 miles away!). The property was stunning, and the location was superb (in the shadows of Table mountain, within a 2 minute walk of Kirstenbosch Botanical Garden). My only regret? Not having scheduled enough time to stay at K-B and fully explore Cape Town. My 2 daughters absolutely loved the garden-like property, as well as the friendly pets (Feather, Mia, and Solo).

Next time I am in Cape Town (and we will be), I will not have to decide on where to stay,, it will definately be with the Scarboroughs at Klein Bosheuwel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricky_nu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
46
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed the first 3 nights of our trip to South Africa here and were delighted with the guest house, the location, the facilities and the warmth of our reception. We arrived tired from a long flight and were greeted with a cool drink then a dip in ther pool. The view from our room was stunning and the gardens are absolutely beautiful. The bed was huge and very comfortable indeed. What makes this guest house so special are the owners and the staff who are charming, knowledgable and helpful. Breakfast every day was fantastic with great food and we enjoyed sitting with Tim and the other guests to share experiences and plan the days activities. Access to Cape Town, local restaurants etc is easy by car - but the guest house is in a very quiet area with an easy stroll to the botanical gardens.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Nicki and Tim Scarborough are delightful hosts, with extensive knowledge of the area. The guest house sits in beautiful gardens with excellent views. We held our wedding ceremony in the gardens in 2005 and Klein Boscheuwel was a must stay on our return to South Africa. Stay in "John Major's" room if you can - both for the standard of the room - but more importantly for the panoramic view from the windows. If you have any interest in rugby or any affinity with Jersey Tim will have a very intense conversation with you over breakfast. Great location for Kirstenbosch Gardens and the Constantia wine route.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy-Jacquie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watlington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

This beautiful, stylish guest house provides a perfect base for a visit to Cape Town, and in particular the botanical gardens which are just next door within walking distance. The interior decor and the gardens are stunning and spacious. The owners Nikki and Tim go out of their way to make you feel instantly at home and to help and guide your visit with advice and kindness. Difficult to imagine it could be bettered and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.
Ann and Richard Sibly

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Watlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2010

The guest house is set in the center of lovely gardens with a pool. It is located across the road for the Kirstenbosch National Botanical Garden on the side of Table Mountain. Each morning you can hike in the gardens and then return feast on an outstanding breakfast. Tim, the host, is a wonderful man full of stories of South Africa and always willing to give you guidance as you plan your day. From the moment you arrive, they fly the flag of the most recent arrivals, to the moment you leave, you feel at home. This would also be an ideal place to bring a family. Everything in Cape Town is a short distance and yet when you are at home here you feel the calm and beauty of nature. Each morning you look out your window and see Table Mountain and the new day that awaits you in this magical land.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn36889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

We can only say what a fantatic 4 days we had with Tim and Nikki who made us so welcome in a suberb location with views over the valley and mountain. We would defy anyone who did not find the location - food and hosts absolutly first class. Very helpful in advising where,when and what to see and only 2 minutes from the botanical gardens.
The only thing left to say is we will be back in 2012 see you both then
David and Anna

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank davidbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, FL
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2010

This B&B is perfectly situated for anyone looking for a short walk to Kristenbosch Botanical Gardens or a short drive to Constantia Valley for a winery visit and great dining. Also, Cape Town and all it's glorious sites is just a short drive from this gracious B&B. The Owners (Tim & Nicki) will accommodate your needs and make any advance reservations you may desire to do during your stay with them. Don't miss the peninsula drive (see Frommers guide), Table Mnt, or Kristenbosch gardens. Allow a minimum of 4 hrs for the gardens. We stayed at Klein Bosheuwel for 4 nights and could have easily stayed 5 or 6. If you are short on time, we would recommend eliminating the Robben Island excursion from your itinerary. Don't miss dining at the waterfront. Also, if in Constantine, dinner at the Cattle Baron is a great choice. Recommended by Tim & Nicki.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnorkelNutDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Constantia hotels
5.3 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#5 of 5 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
2.9 mi away
Summit Place Guesthouse
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 38 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
3.2 mi away
Dongola Guest House
Dongola Guest House
#1 of 38 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southern Light Country House
Southern Light Country House
#10 of 38 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klein Bosheuwel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klein Bosheuwel Guest House

Property: Klein Bosheuwel Guest House
Address: 51A Klaassens Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Klein Bosheuwel Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Klein Bosheuwel Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klein Bosheuwel Guest House Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing