We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buitenverwachting Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 44 Restaurants in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Buitenverwachting offers a elegantly casual dining experience, with design and menu reflecting the authentic character of the wine estate. A new wine library was established for pre-dinner drinks and tasting experience of rare and vintage wines.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The food was good; the only one mistake made by ourselves was the order of Wiener Schnitzel under the Table Mountain, it was a really not good selection. But what we really enjoyed, was the local sparkling wine and the German sommelier.

Thank Ladislav V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

503 - 507 of 775 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were some friends and relatives that arrived to Buitenverwachting on a rainy evening. We had recommended this restaurants to our friends and because of the name of the restaurant, our expectations were high.

Most of us ordered the Argentinean Prawns, but one chose the Famous 3 soups. All of it was to the satisfaction! For mains most of us chose Chalmar beef Fillet which was delicious! But one of us had the Edgar’s Cordon Bleu Schnitzel. It was huge, but tased like the ones in ordinary grills. That was a mistake!

Buitenverwachting Chocolate Variation was chosen of 5 of us. It was as superb as we remember from last time, five years ago. One person had Vanilla Panna Cotta which tasted as it was made from powder. Our waiter informed us that the guests from the other table had the same opinion. Unfortunately the woman who got this powder desert was the same unhappy person who had the bad Schnitzel . What made me very surprised was, that this woman did not get any compensation what so ever. One third fact is that she also asked for alcohol-free wine and was turned down – they did not have any. In our country that would be an offence, if a good restaurant does not have alcohol-free wines.

So for 5 persons this dinner was absolutely delicious, but for one of us three of four requests were big disappointments, I’m sorry to say.

Thank AroundTheWorld000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Im sure this restaurant can be great. Its an amazing setting and the wine is great. However our experience was very disappointing. We had to remind them 2 times to bring our drinks which took over 30 minutes to come. The food was average at best and the paying the bill took about 20 mins as the bill was wrong and the card machine did not work. The staff seemed stressed and a couple were criticising each other which was very unprofessional. To be fair after complaining they did give us the drinks on the house.

1  Thank Elliotbows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Having been once before to Buitenverwachting (2011) and having had a good meal, we organised a lunch for my mother - it was a belated celebration of her 80th birthday and the first time we had been together as a family for a very long time.

The fish my mother and sister ordered was uncooked, something that should have been noticed by the chef. It was inedible and had to be returned so, by the time it had been properly cooked, my brother and I had obviously finished our food. The manager eventually came over to our table and said "I believe we owe you a very small apology". And that was all that was said.

This was supposed to be a very special occasion and because my mother is elderly, we did not wish to make a fuss in front of her. But my feeling is that the restaurant/restaurant manager did not care about the poor food and had become very arrogant - we should have received a proper apology, not the patronising one we did get.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar70, Maitre 'D at Buitenverwachting Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear Sara,

thank you very much for taking the time reporting your feedback. We were obviously dissapointed reading of your lunch experience at our restaurant. In order to improve our service we would like to investigate these issues and would need to know when exactly you have dined with us. Perhaps you could let us also know under which name the booking was made.
Should a meal or dish not meet the expectations of our diners the dish will be immediatly replaced. This should have also been done at your birthday luncheon.
I am the restaurant manager and the comment you have mentioned in your review does certainly not belong to my vocabulary.
Your assistance is highly appreciated.
Our email contact is restaurant@buitenverwachting.com, I am looking forward to hearing from you.
Best regards
Kent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

It is really nice restaurant and the chef if experienced Try local sparkling wine, one of the best aroun here..

Thank Ladislav V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buitenverwachting Restaurant also viewed

Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 
Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to Buitenverwachting Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing