We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arrogant service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buitenverwachting Restaurant

Buitenverwachting Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 41 Restaurants in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Walton-on-Thames
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Arrogant service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Having been once before to Buitenverwachting (2011) and having had a good meal, we organised a lunch for my mother - it was a belated celebration of her 80th birthday and the first time we had been together as a family for a very long time.

The fish my mother and sister ordered was uncooked, something that should have been noticed by the chef. It was inedible and had to be returned so, by the time it had been properly cooked, my brother and I had obviously finished our food. The manager eventually came over to our table and said "I believe we owe you a very small apology". And that was all that was said.

This was supposed to be a very special occasion and because my mother is elderly, we did not wish to make a fuss in front of her. But my feeling is that the restaurant/restaurant manager did not care about the poor food and had become very arrogant - we should have received a proper apology, not the patronising one we did get.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar70, Maitre 'D at Buitenverwachting Restaurant, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Sara,

thank you very much for taking the time reporting your feedback. We were obviously dissapointed reading of your lunch experience at our restaurant. In order to improve our service we would like to investigate these issues and would need to know when exactly you have dined with us. Perhaps you could let us also know under which name the booking was made.
Should a meal or dish not meet the expectations of our diners the dish will be immediatly replaced. This should have also been done at your birthday luncheon.
I am the restaurant manager and the comment you have mentioned in your review does certainly not belong to my vocabulary.
Your assistance is highly appreciated.
Our email contact is restaurant@buitenverwachting.com, I am looking forward to hearing from you.
Best regards
Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    154
    48
    33
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with very good kitchen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

It is really nice restaurant and the chef if experienced Try local sparkling wine, one of the best aroun here..

Helpful?
Thank Ladislav V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our daughter's wedding ~ exceptional attention to detail, superb venue and setting and finally really good food and service.

Helpful?
Thank David Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Very poor tasting menu”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

After so many good reviews on TA, who could visit Cape Town and not try a meal here? Certainly not us and dinner was duly booked and experienced last evening. Not being a meat eater and with only one fish/veg main offered, we opted for the seafood based tasting menu.
Without going into the issues of each dish (though we did with the chef) they basically use good quality ingredients but seem to have no idea how to get the best out of them. In particular, the ''paste'' with the fresh tuna detracted from everything fresh tuna offers, and the fresh Kingklip had been griddled to the extent that the only taste left was the burnt strips. Totally inedible, which is sad for good fish.
Dessert is often a dish where creativity can be let loose, but not here. Safe, not particularly imaginative.
We learned during our ''chat'' afterwards that this was a new menu, second day only. My comment then, as now, was change it before you do too much damage.
The poor experience was reflected in the bill, but that is not the point. It does seem to me that nobody had taken the trouble to find out what the new menu actually tasted like.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgar70, Chef & Partner at Buitenverwachting Restaurant, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your opinion on TripAdviser. We appreciate all feedback from our valued customers may it be good or unsatisfactory comments to improve our strength & weaknesses.
Im downhearted that you did not fully enjoyed your dinner with us.
We have addressed the issus with our employees about your points.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again to convince you of our food and service at our restaurant.
Kind regards,
Edgar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have recently had two lovely meals at the restaurant. Excellent presentation and delicious food with a detailed description of our meals by James, an excellent host.
Edgar, the head chef has created some very interesting combinations of flavours, in fact we had a lengthy discussion with Edgar and we personally thanked him for his wonderful tasty meal.
We would recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys good food and service in amazing surroundings.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nathan1317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buitenverwachting Restaurant also viewed

Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 
Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to Buitenverwachting Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing