We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a dining treat!!”

Buitenverwachting Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 42 Restaurants in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“always a dining treat!!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Buitenverwachting is a "special" dining experience for us- we save it for those extra special dining occasions and we have never been disappointed yet! although the restaurant often is quiet (and I am not sure why) this isnt all bad since the waiters are keen and attentive and course after course makes its way out of the kitchen on time -each special and unique. If you are a "trendoid" and looking for "vibe" this may NOT be the place for you - but if classic dining and and excellent food experience is on your priority list then Buitenverwachting wont disappoint.
its out in the winelands in the beautiful Constantia area and so the drive out is really special too.....restaurant ambience is classic and not over done.
happy to recommend to Cape Tonians and visitors......

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda-gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    157
    49
    33
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Phantastic experience....”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have been to this restaurant many years ago and definitely wanted to go back and see it again. As part of our party are vegetarians, we "warned" the restaurant in advance - and to our surprise we were greeted by printed menu with a fine selection of vegetarian dishes. This was fine, but the food was even better. When visiting Cape Town, definitely try to book lunch or dinner at this restaurant.
Just the staff seemed a bit distracted and less attentive than expected, but maybe a bit of training might help.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flowwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Par excellence!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Mostly Iike everything about this restaurant. Their food is of a very high standard, as is their service and the location is very special. I go back time and time again and am never disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank SueAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Picnic platter”
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We met friends in the garden, shaded by huge tree in glorious sunshine, came here many years ago. This is still a lovely setting for lunch, good food in abundance, pleasant staff and great value.

Helpful?
2 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A quiet Monday but still top notch food!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A wine farm in Constantia that always delivers great food.This is serious michelin star quality food from a great chef.It is a pity that there were only 2 tables filled-though it was a Monday night.
We arrived to be greeted to a glass of perfectly chilled bubbles.
The amuse-bouche was divine,particularly a tomato tapinade and a lovely beef cappachio!
We both started with the 2 soups(it should be 3 but as we do not do pigs,we passed one of them!
So it was spinach and garlic.The garlic is amazing.Though the piece de resistence is the plate of lam the accompanies it.You can use the various little lamb tasters as a dip or eat them on their own.It is a magical dish.
For the main mum had spring bok with a lovely red cabbage pancake she was very quiet a sure sign she was enjoying!
I had the lamb,perfectly cooked with wilted spinach and crunchy beans.I had a floral Gerwurztraminer with the starter.With the main I chose a cab blend to go with the Springbok for my mum while I had a 2007 Cab to pair with the lamb.
The signature chocolate plate made dessert a simple choice!I did allow my mum the odd taste of this!!!
The service was polished friendly and professional.
Another successful evening
Kendal mint

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KendalMint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buitenverwachting Restaurant also viewed

Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 
Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to Buitenverwachting Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing