We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing better than a Sunday Lunch at a Winery”
Review of Simon's Restaurant

Simon's Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 42 Restaurants in Constantia
Price range: $5 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the fertile Constantia Valley lies a 300-year old wine estate, Groot Constantia and on it, Simon's restaurant, where we celebrate the riches of the Cape winelands by transforming the freshest ingredients into memorable meals. Revel in the Cape Town summer by dining al fresco on our terrace with panoramic views of the Groot Constantia vineyards. Savour the wines of the valley or enjoy our wide selection of craft beers. As the weather turns, join us inside where we like to light a giant fire on chilly days
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nothing better than a Sunday Lunch at a Winery”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

One of the enduring attractions of Cape Town is its proximity to the Winelands. But instead of driving for a couple of hours to get there, why not try our own backyard? Nestled in the Contantia Valley is the venerable Groot Constantia Estate and in the top corner against the slopes of the mountains is Simon's Restaurant.

A picturesque setting, excellent menu, good service and a fair selection of wines makes for a fine lunch. Our group of 7 sat outdoors and had a wide variety of food from chicken peri peri, steak, fish and chips and pasta. All meals were hot, well presented and tasty. The helpings were enormous.

On the whole the menu is varied and a bit predictable but that is probably geared to the clientele. The food was well prepared and came as ordered.

Being a Sunday lunch, the restaurant was full and yet the service was brisk and the staff friendly and attentive despite being obviously under a lot of pressure. The restaurant was populated mostly with large groups and all seemed to favor al fresco dining which is definitely the preferred alternative if the weather is fine.

All in all an excellent experience and a nice alternative to the better known wine routes.....and we were back home in less than 30 minutes.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    125
    79
    36
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Grubby embarassment in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My first visit in over 12 months on a quiet Monday lunchtime this week. When I walked in I was immediately aware of all the stained and torn cushions on the cafe chairs. The general furniture and furnishings were either peeling, torn or stained.
If the items in full view of the public are so grubby and in such disrepair one wonders what the kitchen is like? Also no soap in the ladies toilet and paper lying around the passage to the toilets. Should have done the wise thing and left there and then, but did have an elderly guest with me.
Best to say that the kitchen messed up the order of my guest twice and it had to be sent back twice. No rolls came with the carpaccio and when it was asked for they were hard and stale.
I'm not sure what is happening here and why, but its very sad to see. This restaurant is on one of our grand old estates and can be such a gem. Perhaps the unsuspecting tourist will eventually be the only clientele, but until I hear things have changed I will be one custoomer that will definitely not be returning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra5A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“VERY AVERAGE - BOTH IN REGARD TO FOOD QUALITY AND SERVICE”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The food was not terrible. The service was not terrible. What else can you say - the only great thing about the experience was the location. The chips tasted like oven chips - that were served cold. Could do so much better if properly managed!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoordhoekTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disjointed, chaotic - lack of management control”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Ate here last Saturday. Where do I start, well maybe with a positive, the waitress was polite, smiley and got us a great table in the shade. From then on a disaster.
No bread available - had run out apparently (Fyi Simon's there is a Spar locally in desperate times!!) yet my boy's steak sandwich was placed as an order??
My sodden salmon and shrimp salad arrived with my boys steak disaster (no bread =no sandwich) but three pieces of greasy baguette under a fatty steak smothered in onion marmalade. Say no more really.
My wife's fish and chips arrived (after much chasing) as we finished our meals (loose description!) - this looked so unappetising as to be untrue, raw chips, undercooked fish full of bones. The table next door - turned out to be a friend of mine - said they had sent three meals back out of four. Enough said?
Manager apologised and removed fish from bill - will never go back and yet it has been a favourite of ours for years. What a shame.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
229 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, great food, shame about the service”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Sunny Sunday afternoon, Groot Constantia is a gorgeous location and Simon's restaurant has good food, outdoor seating and a good wine selection. We were only disappointed by the service, which could have been a lot better. Still, wine and good and scenery were very enjoyable. Will go again but hope to get better service!

Helpful?
1 Thank LiveWorkTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simon's Restaurant also viewed

 
Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to Simon's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing