We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of La Colombe

La Colombe
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: La Colombe, one of Cape Town's most well-loved and awarded restaurants. Contemporary French-meets-Asian fine dining.
Reviewed October 27, 2019

It's unfortunate that Michelin doesn't go to Africa. This restaurant would have at least 2 stars. The tables are far apart so you are not disturbed by other diners. The food was amazing and the presentation was very original. The wine list was extensive, as expected. And finally, the service was perfect. I am posting a few photos of the food which tasted as good as it looks! I highly recommend this restaurant and I would definitely go again.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (3,260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 302 of 3,260 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2019

First class service here with food superbly cooked and presented with excellent flavours
Wonderful atmosphere looking out on the mountains opposite, bliss.
This is a must when visiting Cape Town, we always book early and have been eating in La Colombe when in the Cape for over 18 years.even before they were at Constantia Nek.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Conanby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 25, 2019 via mobile

Oh what a pantomime. Church Hall no laughs. So looking forward to it. What a let down. Waiters initially tripping over each other yet service really slow. And the spice new season menu turned out to be the taste of a two day old curry pervading the whole meal. Mouthful one was a curry meat ball. Yuk. Mouthful two twenty minutes later a tasty little number, but no things were not looking up the sliver of quail breast yummy spoilt by the rest of the plate being over cooked. Broth and bread nice but broth underseasoned and over whelmed by the muesli bar thrown in it. Main course..good old unimaginative chicken accompanied by a greasy oily puddle of tandoori jus. The tiny drop of coriander jus was fabulous as was the tasty tangerine unfortunately the accompanying dry ice theatrical gave of the smell of open drains. And dessert chocolate where the tempering already had a bloom on it and tasted of old Easter egg. Really. What a let down, and come on a million desserts and it's all poor chocolate. Boring.
And as for the irritating waiter who kept insisting on telling us what was the best and what was our favourite. I DON'T CARE. GO AWAY. Three hours later,,, yes really three hours that felt as though I had sat thro a high school production of Romeo and Julie,,, we left. Disappointed,they say they pride themselves on food being a theatrical experience,well, that can only be compared to the worst dress rehearsal and as for me I left resolving to spend my money at Ruste en Frede next time.

Date of visit: October 2019
3  Thank Nottoberepeared
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 23, 2019

And, one of the best meals I've ever experienced. I have enjoyed many fine restaurants in many parts of the world, and I can definitely say that this was an amazing experience worth every minute and every rand. Our table had the chef's menu, and each course was prepared and presented with an artistry that truly displayed how much the kitchen and staff care about the patron's experience! If you are in the area, do NOT miss a chance to eat here!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank reb6558
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 21, 2019

Top end restaurant with tasting menu. The Spring Special of 7 dishes gives “ordinary “ folks a taste of top end dining , fantastic service and beautiful presentation of food for a very reasonable price. This was truly a special treat and “affordable”.

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank Golftravelle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed La Colombe also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to La Colombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.