We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST OF THE BEST!”
Review of La Colombe

La Colombe
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: La Colombe, one of Cape Town's most well-loved and awarded restaurants. Contemporary French-meets-Asian fine dining.
Reviewed August 21, 2019

We were two couples and had lunch at La Colombe. We had a fantastic experience at this 3 star restaurant. The reception is very friendly, the staff efficient and the food? ... ah the food! It was an amazing experience! Every course and dish was a surprise. Book in advance! Do not miss it!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (3,260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 336 of 3,260 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2019 via mobile

Went here when on holiday is SA while staying at the V&A area. Got a hotel car for about 18 euro one way as it’s the safest way to go and get back. 18 euro one way BTW. We went when it was dark but it’s in Constantia so about 30 mins drive from Waterfront.

This is a must if you like fine dining without pretentiousness and is Michelin star level bit with that fantastic South African casual tone about it. We had 9 courses and each is explained and comes out with different tales of what is on the plate along with a few lovely surprises. My wife went with the wine pairing and this was explained with a little humor as well.

It was about 250 euro all in with only one drinker, but it really is a once off experience if you enjoy some of the best restaurants in the World.

Booking is essential as we booked before we travelled by about 2 weeks. A deposit is paid and if you book via their website it’s pretty straightforward.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Tflashgordon007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 17, 2019 via mobile

If you are in Cape Town, this the place to eat! It is outside of Cape Town just off Constantia Neck but easily accessible. Book in advance for a culinary experience! Friendly reception and efficient staff. Every course and dish is a surprise. Careful planning went into every dish blending fresh products with local spices. The La Colombe Tuna: fabulous! The lamb: fabulous!
Come hungry and enjoy a memorable meal!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank JohannS774
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 16, 2019 via mobile

We are a group of friends that met for lunch at La Colombe yesterday. We had all been before on numerous occasions, so had HIGH expectations, having loved our previous visits.

We were met with warmth and friendliness by the staff, and our waitress, Marianne, introduced herself. Marianne went on to deliver a fantastic and professional service.

We all had the winter special, and two of the table of seven, had the wine pairing (which they enjoyed thoroughly).

Everything was delicious. Thank you to Marianne, the talented chefs and everyone else at La Colombe.

The experience is WORLD CLASS and so many restaurants can learn so much from your attention to detail and flawless service delivery.

Date of visit: August 2019
3  Thank Pikkewynct
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 15, 2019

One of the best fine dining experiences I have had. Service was excellent and the food was beautifully presented. Wine pairings were excellent.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank mdsh00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed La Colombe also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to La Colombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.