We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun evening for those who want to be entertained by food”
Review of La Colombe

La Colombe
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: La Colombe, one of Cape Town's most well-loved and awarded restaurants. Contemporary French-meets-Asian fine dining.
Reviewed July 3, 2019

We had the menu of thirteen courses over a business discussion--in this context 13 courses, explained in some detail, can be a distraction. The most interesting thing about the food are the clever modes of packaging and delivery: faux eggs in faux grass nests, titbits hanging from faux bonsai trees etc. No complaints about the quality of the food, wine or service. Food as entertainment isn't a great idea for a business meeting, but I'm sure many would love it when they have the time to relax and be entertained.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (3,260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 363 of 3,260 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2019

As we are regular diners, this was on our list of places still to visit. The food was good, but unfortunately, not outstanding. We did opt for the Winter Special, so perhaps this is not the normal standard. The first two courses were good, especially the marlin. The bread with oxtail, however, eating with our hands was messy and as you couldn't pick up much at a time, I think the flavours were missed. It was a bit of a one hit, one miss experience. A bit too much coriander in a few of the dishes, which overpowers the dish for us.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lmX6841HQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 2, 2019

It was a special occasion for the family, although it was pouring and windy in Cape Town, but the forest view was still stunning, the heating was at the perfect temp, the food was not only "fancy" display with "extra" touch as many try to be "fancy" but it was truly delicious, and the combination used to bring out the taste was not only creative, surprising, all taste amazing and almost every dish has different level of tasting.
Be prepare to spend more than 3 hours, enjoy the presentation, food, view.
Wine and Pair was too much for us, but the wines selected was excellent to compensate and bring out the taste, expect the desert wine.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 238ying
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 29, 2019

You can find a perfect food, wine and people. Matt and Nigel were the best, they helped and explained everything for us

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Ycaro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 26, 2019

I love to cook, but having been here I now know there is Cooking and there is Cooking! Trust me this is not just next level, it is TOP Level. If you ever get the chance to dine here then do not let it pass, go and enjoy, a true gourmet experience.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed La Colombe also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to La Colombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.