We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Adderley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adderley Hotel
Ranked #83 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We found this hotel from an outstanding special on Booking.com and it is walking distance from all that is hip and happening.
When we got to the hotel the staff gave us a free upgrade to one of their luxury rooms. We stayed on the third floor in room number 2. The room was nicely decorated, clean and spacious with a massive bath to relax in. Really great!!!
The hotel is on a main road, so I do think that it can get a bit noisy in the week. As we were there on a weekend the road were quiet and the noise from the street minimal.
Some other problems that I read on this site about the hotel were that some people had issues with parking, but really there is no issue if you just follow instructions. To locate the hotel’s parking garage you must drive to the back of the hotel and enter the parking garage. Drive up to Level F and park in a ‘Adderley Hotel’ parking bay. From there you just take to lift down to reception. The hotel does charge a fee of R45 per day for parking, but it is definitely worth it.
The hotel staff were super friendly, professional and they really when out of their way to be helpful. We would have liked staying longer and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a luxury room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager S, General Manager at Adderley Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of your experience during your recent stay at the Adderley Hotel. We pride ourselves in the standard of product and service we have on offer to our guests.
We welcome all guest feedback and proud to receive such positive feedback from our valued Guests.

We looking forward to welcoming you back at Adderley Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dewald vd Berg
General Manager
Adderley Hotel ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    99
    34
    6
    11
See reviews for
23
143
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We enjoyed our anniversary at the hotel and to our surprise, were upgraded to a luxury suite. Very friendly staff, clean rooms and close to a variety of restaurants, art galleries, museums and the company gardens. The only negative is that we were on the 2nd floor, which can be quite noisy at night with the main road just outside the windows. Other than that, the perfect place for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeillB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager S, General Manager at Adderley Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of your experience during your recent stay at the Adderley Hotel. We pride ourselves in the standard of product and service we have on offer to our guests.

We highly appreciate your feedback, and your recommendation of our excellent position in Cape Town. We would like to host you again on future visits to our beautiful city.

We have made a note of your floor request for future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me direct for your future bookings.

Kind regards

Dewald van der Berg
General Manager
Adderley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We found the location perfect and central if you want to walk around central Cape Town and to the Waterfront. It also is close to the gardens which is good for leisure. Within walking distance to Long Street which is great for eating and drinking. Rooms were clean and very comfortable, and the staff were fantastic and helpful. If you want to leave a little extra money in your pocket I would suggest staying here, especially if you like to explore on your own. Taxis are easy to get at this location also.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager S, General Manager at Adderley Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of your experience during your recent stay at the Adderley Hotel. We pride ourselves in the standard of product and service we have on offer to our guests.

We highly appreciate your feedback, and your recommendation of our excellent position in Cape Town. We would like to host you again on future visits to our beautiful city.
Please do not hesitate to contact me direct for your future bookings.

Kind regards

Dewald van der Berg
General Manager
Adderley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were very satisfied with the hotel for the price we paid. It's in the central business district, about 20-25 minutes walk to the waterfront. Not great for going back and forth, but taxes were only about $5 each way. We walked during the day when it's safer and took the taxi back at night. Certainly much cheaper than staying at the waterfront.

The rooms were renovated quite well and spacious for what we needed. I like the fact that they had a fridge and microwave for leftover food. The only downside is that the windows let a lot of sound in and there was constant sounds throughout the night which kept us up. If you have ear plugs, then it's a great place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager S, General Manager at Adderley Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of your experience during your recent stay at the Adderley Hotel. We pride ourselves in the standard of product and service we have on offer to our guests.

We highly appreciate your feedback, and your recommendation of our excellent position in Cape Town. We would like to host you again on future visits to our beautiful city.
Please do not hesitate to contact me direct for your future bookings.

Kind regards

Dewald van der Berg
General Manager
Adderley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The suite I stayed in was spacious, comfortable and incredibly affordable. The block itself is nothing special but you are a short walk over to the bars/restaurants on Long Street and are very centrally positioned to take a quick cab ride anywhere in the city. Stayed with a friend and our room was huge (king bed, couch, table, kitchenette, spacious bathroom) and the staff set up a roll-away bed at no extra charge. Don't go here for the food (didn't eat at the restaurant since there are so many other good options around), and the roof deck/pool is nothing to write home about (very small and looks over a busy city), but it's a great place to use as your home base while exploring the city and you get great bang for your buck.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager S, Manager at Adderley Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of your experience during your recent stay at the Adderley Hotel. We pride ourselves in the standard of product and service we have on offer to our guests.
We highly appreciate your feedback, and your recommendation of our excellent position in Cape Town. We would like to host you again on future visits to our beautiful city. Please do not hesitate to contact me direct for your future bookings.

Kind regards

Dewald van der Berg
General Manager
Adderley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had a business lunch for 10 people at the Bowl Restaurant. There was no waitress and so the hotel receptionist did her best to help out for the hour until the waitress arrived. The food was mediocre and took ages to arrive. The food and the cocktails received were not as described on the menu and deserts were one serving short. When we tried to complain to the manager, we were informed that there was no manager on duty. I have since sent them a faxed complaint and e-mailed a complaint, but have had no response whatsoeve. What was supposed to be a special occasion turned into a disaster.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPROETIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager S, General Manager at Adderley Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Janice

The Adderley Hotel, Cape Town certainly prides itself on exceeding guests' expectations, and we sincerely regret not achieving this on this occasion. Please except my sincere apologies for the inconvenience to you and your team. I can assure you that the matter has been addressed with the relevant manager and staff to avoid a recurrence.

I trust that the refreshments and flowers sent to your office was a great treat for you and your team and that we have restored your lost faith in the Adderley Hotel.

We do appreciate your feedback as it assists us in improving the service and product we have on offer to our guests.

With renewed apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The hotel is in a very nice (and safe) area, extremely close to the luxurious company gardens.
We stayed in the Junior Suite that was rather big with kichenette, sofa and raised bed and bathroom area. Worth mentioning that the bed was quite big and amazingly comfortable!
The staff were very friendly and helpful (but do not trust the car booking service they suggest, it's overpriced!), and the room was serviced even twice a day. Both the room and the common areas of the hotel were very clean and modern looking.
On the bad side, the pool is quite small and deep (1.8m), so you can neither swim nor paddle.
Internet was not free (but apparently they're updating the system to make it free soon), but decently fast.
Overall I would warmly recommend the hotel as a base to visit Cape Town!

Room Tip: We had a Junior Suite (203) that was very good, just a very slightly noisy since it was facing the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager S, General Manager at Adderley Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Afomis
We appreciate your feedback, as it assists us with becoming better at what we do. Your compliments and recommendations are valuable to us and we thank you for posting them in this public forum. Please do not hesitate to contact me direct the following time you are looking to stay in Cape Town – we would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Diamond Hotel
#78 of 106 in Cape Town Central
247 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 106 in Cape Town Central
935 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#45 of 106 in Cape Town Central
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#35 of 106 in Cape Town Central
836 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
566 reviews
City Bowl
Grand Daddy Hotel
Grand Daddy Hotel
#57 of 106 in Cape Town Central
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adderley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adderley Hotel

Property: Adderley Hotel
Address: 31 Adderley Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Hotel Class:4 star — Adderley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adderley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adderley Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing