We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Adderley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adderley Hotel
Ranked #81 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“amazing stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I had such a nice weekend at this hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Very nice ladies at the reception. When I left, I had knew right then and there that i WILL BE BACK! The swimmingpool could have been a little bigger, that is the only thing I can put my finger on really. Loved relaxing at this hotel, both in the rooms and on the roof deck by the pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager S, General Manager at Adderley Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Heidi U

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at the Adderley Hotel. Exceeding our guests expectations is of utmost importance to us. We look forward welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    99
    34
    6
    11
See reviews for
23
143
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel is located right in the middle of the city, within walking distance of Greenmarket square. I had read on the tripadvisor about the suites and surely they were nice and big as expected. The front office staff is quite friendly and helped arrange the peninsula tour, and a car (for self drive over next few days) at the last minute. The hotel is definitely high on the value for money front.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Manager S, General Manager at Adderley Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Ankur K

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of your satisfactory experience during your stay at the Adderley Hotel. We pride ourself in the standard of product and service we have on offer to our guest.
We highly appretiate your feedback, as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. We look forward hosting again at Adderley Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karatu, Tanzania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I booked two rooms (suites actually) at this hotel through hotels.com based on reviews on there and Trip Advisor. As May is off season we got an extremely good rate and would have found this hotel value for money with an even higher rate. Upgrading to a junior suite or better is a good option. On arrival one of the rooms needed to be twin bedded so they upgraded that for us with no charge. The location is EXCELLENT, in easy walking distance to The Company Gardens, museums, great restaurants and fun street markets. Taxis available right out the door and we used a really nice guy from Zimbabwe for most of our four day stay. The "hop on hop off" bus stop is also in walking distance.

I did not use or even look at the bar or restaurant, we went out for delicious breakfasts every day. WiFi was expensive although it did work in the rooms, offering free WiFi would be a good idea. The staff was fine but not ott on customer service. Our only comment was they could do with some training but we had no issues as other reviews seem to have had. We really enjoyed this hotel, highly recommend it and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auroraafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel is in a great location in the heart of the bowl, close to the garden market and all shops. It's about a half hour walk to V&A waterfront and Robben Island ferries. We ate at the restaurant and it was lovely. Staff are friendly and very helpful.Rooms are spacious and very comfortable.
There is nothing I can complain about in regard to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannefarrell955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I traveled around South Africa during our honeymoon and spent the last leg of the trip at the Adderley Hotel. Our room was beautiful, the staff helpful, and the location is right in the central downtown area. You can do a lot of walking from here to various sites and eats at fab restaurants nearby. All that for $75 a night (during the off season - I'm not sure if it's more at other times of the year).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We had booked it on hotels.com because there was a sale and we were looking for something cheaper. It turned out to be a very nice hotel that must have been recently renovated. Our room was huge and was cleaned every day. The front desk was extremely helpful and friendly. All in all, a great place to stay for a couple days in Cape Town!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sravin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were finishing off our trip to South Africa, by staying the last two nights in Capetown. As our flight did not leave until 23:20 we booked for 3 nights, so that we could come & go as we pleased on the last day and shower before leaving. On checking in we were informed we had been upgraded to a King Suite-the room was awesome!! The hotel is very central and if you want to go further afield there is a taxi rank outside and it is a short walk to the bus & train stations. We breakfasted in the hotel each morning for 120 Rands (£8), and we also ate dinner there each evening, which again was very reasonable compared to prices in UK. The staff, both in the restuarant and on reception, were extremely helpful & very friendly. I will certainly stay in the Adderley should we visit Capetown again and will recommend to anyone wishing a luxury suite at a very reasonal price. We booked through Agoda (£141) but after booking and paying found we could have got it a bit cheaper through Expedia they were doing 3 nights for price of 2, but hey ho, for the standard of room and facilities we had we would have had to pay the same per night in Edinburgh what we paid for the whole stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Diamond Hotel
#78 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#35 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#44 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parliament Hotel
#37 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
City Bowl
Grand Daddy Hotel
Grand Daddy Hotel
#57 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Tudor Hotel
#96 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adderley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adderley Hotel

Property: Adderley Hotel
Address: 31 Adderley Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Hotel Class:4 star — Adderley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adderley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adderley Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing