We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nine Flowers Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I spent four nights in September at Nine Flowers. When I arrived the area seemed deserted, but it's actually a fantastic location - next to two stops on the "red bus" tourist service and a minute from the Company Gardens, which means that you can walk very easily to central locations. The building is lovely and my room was decorated in a tasteful modern style, with amenities well thought out, and a gorgeous view of the mountain. The staff are excellent - friendly and helpful, and go out of their way to make you welcome and to help you plan your stay in Cape Town. I liked the luxurious touch of finding a hot water bottle in place when I returned to my room in the evenings. I would definitely return to this guest house if visiting Cape Town again.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear of the property (most are) as the street outside is noisy, and the rear ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avigail9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    54
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
249
35
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monrovia, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed for five nights at the Nine Flowers Guest House. The house is lovely and historic, our room was spacious and the bathroom was modern. Everything is kept very clean. The breakfast is abundant, varied, and delicious. We had warm conversations with other guests and with our host. The staff is thoughtful; what a treat to return on a winter's evening to find a hot water bottle warming the bed. The guest house is conveniently located but the area is also quiet. We would recommend that you stay here when you visit Capetown.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed three nights with our 16 month daughter in tow. The owner was very accommodating with helping us get set up - we had to use a plastic box for a makeshift bath - and allowed us to use the kitchen to help with her meals. It was a bit of a pain that there wasn't a highchair but that's really our problem. The room was clean and minimal so we found it very relaxing. The staff were the best! They were friendly and tried to do everything they could to make our stay pleasurable (they even watched our daughter for five minutes while we enjoyed our lovely breakfast in peace!).
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlossRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We recently spent three nights at Nine Flowers and although we arrived early we soon got into our room. The room was spacious and comfortable, everywhere was clean and the small courtyard was charming. Lovely place to have breakfast each morning. All the staff were helpful and willingly suggested and booked things for us. Nicely situated near Gardens and on the open-top tour bus route, which is a great way to get about and see the sights. My only suggestions are that the room, which was large, had very little hanging space for clothes, and it was the only place we had to pay for wifi. Although it was not a lot, the wifi could only be accessed in a few the main area and everywhere else it was included in the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
161 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Arrived early but this was not a problem, we were greeted with a warm friendly smile,rooms were pristine and the whole place small but quaint, lovley garden to have a cool drink,breakfast was lovley,fresh every thing,walking distance to the city via the Government Gardens.Helpful with tours and restaurant advise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homer000red_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The room was very nice, large, and modern. The owner is very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast too. There is secure parking as well which is a must have while staying in Cape Town. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor room was a bit noisy from the kitchen staff preparing breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

What a wonderful guest house. Spotlessly clean. Staff fantastic, 300 metres from the Great Synagogue in Cape Town. Were able to cater for our Kosher needs. We will be spending the next few weeks every Sabbath at the guest house and we are looking very forward.

Room Tip: It is very central and very quiet and a real treat of true African hospitality
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenecruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nine Flowers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nine Flowers Guest House

Property: Nine Flowers Guest House
Address: 133 Hatfield Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nine Flowers Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated in the heart of historic Cape Town, our gracious and lovingly restored Victorian homestead and National Monument is close to everything - just across the road from the tranquil Company Gardens, and only few walking minutes away from Parliament, the National Museum and Long Street, with its shops, bars and restaurants.Thanks to its central location, Nine Flowers Guest House is the ideal starting point to explore Cape Town, whether for business or leisure.Dating back to Victorian times, Nine Flowers Guest House offers the charm of that era, in conjunction with up-to-date amenities and infrastructure. In this inspiring ambiance we bid a hearty welcome to all travelers!Your hostsMarrin & Matthias ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Nine Flowers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nine Flowers Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing