We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the best Thai food”
Review of Wang Thai

Wang Thai
Ranked #609 of 1,163 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood, Thai, Taiwanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Arizona, USA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Some of the best Thai food”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Delish! The sushi was fresh. The spring rolls were flavorful (we had chicken). The steamed fish was to die for! It doens't sound so exciting on the menu but trust me! The broth it was in I could have sipped through a straw! We went back for lunch!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MimiLoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Thai restaurant...reasonably priced”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Went to Wang Thai for the first time. We arrived at 6:45 and it was almost vacant...by 7:15 it was packed. Moral: go early. Very friendly and helpful wait staff. We ordered under the traditional Thai section of an extensive menu. I had the fresh fish entree with Thai sauces and my wife had the duck in a similar manner. Both were very good. With a shared plate starter the total was R346 which I felt was reasonable. The corkage fee was R30. I do not see how you can loose at the Wang Thai.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TopsideMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Great Thai food...”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

You don't normally come to South Africa to eat Thai food however we did want a bit of a change from steak so decided to try Wang Thai. Great atmosphere, great food and good service. Slightly pricey but would definitely go there again ;)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wishinguwerehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Quite enjoyable”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away down a steep stairs , looks a bit drab , food quality is not consistent as you can have great food one day and what looks like reheats on another . Kids enjoy this Thai , honey chicken and the other popular choice is chicken n cashew nuts. Service is on and off as well. Popular as a take out, and fine to pop in for quick meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SACLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellant Thai!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A bit pricey for Thai, but it is on the V&A Waterfront where every place is overpriced. Having said this, the food was superb and service excellent. Would definately go there again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank cheryl n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wang Thai also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Wang Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing