We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calamari to die for”
Review of Ocean Basket

Ocean Basket
Ranked #388 of 1,155 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Destin, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Calamari to die for”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Didn't expect the quality of food and service from a chain. But one bite of their grilled calamari changed my mind. As good as I've ever had. And other dishes - fish, prawns - were equally good. An excellent choice wherever you find one in South Africa.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GEEZER_TRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    126
    46
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luanda, Angola
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dont go to the one in century city-canal walk”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

the restauranc is good in itself and w loved out waitress but... the quality of the food is poor and definitely lless!! i went to ocean in cavendish 9 months ago and the food, quality and quantity were supperb! i dont know if its because they attend a lot of ppl but the rice tasted old, the butter sauce was sickly and the fish nuggets look inedible. didnt like it at all!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Princesni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Visited this place every visit to Cape Town but never again. Waiter challenged our choices then brought the things he recommended not what we asked for. He then wanted us to switch food items between pans while he went for the missing items. By the time he returned the food was cold.

Visited ocean basket in Cape Town airport, ordered starter and main. Starter came and was fine then we were told the main was not available and could we order a different more expensive main. What is going on here?

Worst thing is that despite speaking with the manager of the waterfront branch no real attempt was made at service recovery.

Ocean basket management need to take heed, I used to recommend you to people visiting Cape Town, now I will be advising people to avoid your establishments.

Helpful?
Thank cartmeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Seafood and sushi love it”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I always enjoy going to ocean basket i absolutely adore going to this place as they surely do tickle my taste buds when it comes to their seafood and sushi platters,great quaility guys :) :) :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kristin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great food”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We ate at ocean basket several times during our stay and every time was excellent. The prawns and calamari are so good, and great to see the seafood grilled instead of deep fried. We were never disappointed and can't wait to go back next time in cape town.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LKK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Basket also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Ocean Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing