We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Place EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pancho's

Pancho's
Ranked #279 of 1,144 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“The Best Place EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I've been to Pancho's so many times and it just keeps on getting better. The staff, the atmosphere, the drinks and food. This is the place to stop!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank shannon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    32
    10
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great atmosphere, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food is AMAZING! The atmosphere is lively and fun, and the service is never bad. Be sure to book a table, and if you're a smoker, go to the upstairs bar.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nat1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
188 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Reservation, but no jacket, required!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I love this place, but it's a nightmare to get a booking. The frozen margaritas's are amazing. The portions are massive so order off the starter menu or share!!!!!!
Great service and amazing vibe! The manager came to check on us several times. It is completely worth it!!!! The only downside is that you MUST book in advance!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SashSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Book!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

It's my 5th time visiting this Restaurant! Still the best FROZEN Margaritas, service still excellent and food is tasy as usual. The Restaurant is always PACKED, so make sure you book in advance. The have 2 seatings a night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salome P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Make a reservation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We went to Pancho's twice for dinner. The first time we walked in the restaurant was fully booked out, so we made a reservation for the next day. The meals were extreemly tasty and the service was extreemly efficient. The regular meals are huge and even after fasting for most of the day, struggled to finish our dinner, Mexican portions are definately well sized.
There are 2 sittings which they follow strictly, one at 6.30 and the next at 8.30.
Our second encounter had us waiting a short time at the bar for a table to become available, but the service and the food was just as good.
The wait staff are very good at communicating and the meals come out quite quickly.
Highly recomended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CestLeVie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancho's also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Observatory, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Pancho's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing