We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront Eating”
Review of Willoughby & Co

Willoughby & Co
Ranked #19 of 1,163 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Waterfront Eating”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great waterfront Restuarant. No need to look forward. Wonderful sushi, fish and general munu. Will return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HenryBl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,987 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,797
    816
    226
    80
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“fresh delicious sushi”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Sushi was fresh. Very tasty. Good price. Probably the one of the best if not the best sushi I've had. The food took a little long to come out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cp-foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Confused by all the great reviews”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I rank this as the worst sushi experience I've ever had. The fish had no flavor and was sliced thickly and in such a way that the fish was actually chewy. While I haven't been to Japan, I have eaten plenty of sushi all over the United States, and Willoughby ranks worse than supermarket sushi at Whole Foods. The rice was hard and lacked any flavor---couldn't taste any vinegar at all; it honestly tasted like day old rice from a crappy rice cooker.

We also ordered oyster shooters, which the thought of still churns my stomach. Essentially, you get a raw oyster doused in loads of soy sauce, oil, and topped with scallions.
Apparently there was sake but I barely tasted anything except soy sauce. I couldn't even drink mine because the combination was horrific.

I am baffled by this place and wonder what Willoughby would think of actual sushi from Japan?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoOneFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“This is 'The Bomb'!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We sat down for sushi, were served promptly by Andrea, who chatted to us without us being at all pressurized - but the manner in which she described a speciality - 'The Bomb' required but a second of decision and was I impressed!!
A sliced roll of tempura prawns & avoid, wrapped in thinly sliced seared tuna and presented with another of their specialities - reworked sauce and chilli mayo - it was out of this world tasty - and surprisingly reasonably priced.
Top 5 dishes of my life!!
Subtle but great recommendation by Andrea - a big THANK YOU!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“What more can you say about a restaurant that has queues waiting to enter?”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I have been to Willoughbys sometimes 4 x a week. The sushi is definitely the BEST in South Africa, The fish dishes are always super fresh. Service is brisk and often they have a promotion of lovely wines with free tasting. I can wholeheartedly recommend this restaurant. Prices are good too. The halva ice cream is a real treat. Tip. Try to arrive early for dinner (before 6 pm) , queues can be long.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank desparatehousewife07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willoughby & Co also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Willoughby & Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing