We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi excellence”
Review of Willoughby & Co

Willoughby & Co
Ranked #19 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sushi excellence”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Decided to have an early dinner at Willoughby as I was dreading airline food to be had later that evening. I had the 4x4 after the recommendation of the waiter as everything on the menu and on the plates next to me looked so good.

The sushi is one of the best I have tasted and I consider myself to be a sushi connaisseur. Also, as I was not able to finish my endame beans, I got a doggy bag which was much appreciated as it was the best airport snack to be had.

Definitly on my list on places to return to when in Cape Town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,737
    789
    220
    79
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best seafood in cape town”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Forget hout bay this is the place for seafood, only place on the waterfront that you will find a line to enter. Enjoyed my birthday lunch at this brilliant place this week, highly recommended. They are busy most times but service impeccable, you never wait for your meals but all food ordered is of excellent quality. Please try the tempura prawns as your starter, word of warning you may order few rounds thereafter.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeraldNaidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Was pleasantly surprised when we went on Tuesday, this week . We have always liked their fish & chips......their batter is particularly light so it is nice & crispy but the real treat is the sushi.
Good substantial pieces and we could order a half portion of a platter keeping the costs down.
We did think the fish & chips was pricy R 95. Best time to go, if you have the time is 3-6 pm, not crowded and happier waiters.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LazyEXCTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Absolute favourite restaurant in Cape Town”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We come here whenever we are in Cape Town! It is conveniently situated at the V&A - they don't take reservations so expect to stand in a queue as it gets busy. Amazing sushi and japanese cuisine. Had the tempura prawn sushi for starters and teryaki chicken for mains. We spotted Katie Holmes and her daughter Suri here as they were shooting "The Giver" in Cape Town (she also had to stand in the queue! lol:) ) Highly recommended!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank saiyuri m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
184 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Not real Kinkglip”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Was really disappointed with the food at Willoughby's tonight.

Am convinced that they gave me a substitute fish tonight and not Kingklip. The fish was rubbery and tasteless something like the consistency of calamari.

Not sure if it us caused by the shortage of fish in Cape Town at the moment. They should be honest and tell the customer it isnt real kingklip.

Service was also pretty awful.

Not sure if I will be back in a hurry.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NATO-SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willoughby & Co also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Willoughby & Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing