We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, location and people watching”
Review of San Marco

San Marco
Ranked #306 of 1,163 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: European, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Where Cape Town meets the world and the world meets Cape Town! The mother city's most famous meeting point and people-watching spot. An authentic corner of Italy offering friendly, efficient service and delicious traditional Italian fare served for breakfast, lunch and dinner. From beef carpaccio, chourico & peppadews in brandy with fresh basil, mussels in a creamy white wine sauce and Italian-style calamari to an array of meat and pasta dishes, fresh salads, huge stir-fries and mouthwatering gourmet panini sandwiches, including some popular vegetarian dishes. Also famous for their 16 Italian gelato ice cream flavors and genuine hospitality, to be found at the very heart of the bustling V&A Waterfront, South Africa's number one tourist destination and one of the most beautiful working harbor locations in the world. Enjoy an authentic Italian coffee and watch the world going by in a casual, relaxed atmosphere at this bustling Italian sidewalk café. Not to be missed...
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great food, location and people watching”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Although I live in Cape Town I had never eaten at San Marco before.

I was meeting a friend and decided to try San Marco. Sitting outside under the umbrellas with 60% of the patrons and passers by being tourists there is a great vibe.

The food was excellent albeit a bit expensive but I guess you are paying for the location and in European terms it is still "cheap".

I have been back to San Marco for a second time in ten days and once again we were impressed with the food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OffroadAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    198
    107
    61
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A favourite spot”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This restaurant scores highly on drinks, location and snacks or breakfast however service is not good. There are a lot of waiter/waitresses but they spend a lot of time looking busy and do not connect with the customers, not making eye contact. I go there a lot and will continue to do so when I am in Cape Town, it is a great place to meet up and the coffee and breakfast is really good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 525 helpful votes
“Great setting but ouch - the food, the service, the calibre of staff”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

On our previous visit to Cape Town some years ago we chose the San Marco because of its convenient position on the Waterfront. I remember it as being a pleasant experience.

It seems it has been all been downhill since then, and talking to others after our unpleasant visit, we are not the only ones that have been disappointed recently.

What has happened? It would seem that the staff have not been trained properly, their knowledge of the dishes is scant, and after a long wait the food was mediocre. That is, not average, but below average.

Being on the Waterfront this also means higher prices. Our bill for four was R530 and we didn't have that much! The burgers at $79 each were so-so, the sirloin at R135 was tough and sinewy and definitely not a top-grade piece of meat and the veal (R110) only average.

We remembered the great cappuccino's we had on our last visit and were once again disappointed.

San Marco, pick up your game! It is never my intention to critique a restaurant badly, but in this case I have no alternative.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WellTravelledAussie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best spot at the Waterfront in Capetown!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This place is the one of the best waterfront restaurants in town! Great view, great location, great food and EXCELLENT host. The service was one of the best we had in CPT. Forget about coffee in Italy, try it here :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oez S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great value, great outdoors”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This cafe at the V and A has a lovely outdoor seating area. Breakfast is very popular, and I recommend the croissants - the best I had in Cape Town. The lunchtime veggie burger was also tasty.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Katravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Marco also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing