We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A convivial restaurant which offers interesting Italian cuisine”
Review of Bardelli's

Bardelli's
Ranked #181 of 1,148 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Bardellis has been serving Italian styled food for 24 years in the suburbs of the Western Cape. The pizzas are described by many locals as the best in the Cape and the restaurant has been awarded best pizza on two occasions by public voting.Its common to hear world travelers regard Bardellis as the best pizza ever eaten. Always rated in the top pizza and the pasta is said to be a yardstick for Italian cuisine by some highly rated foodies. We serve only top quality ingredients, the fillet steak is a good example of the high food quality supplied. A small offering of seafood and meat dishes allows for some variety when in a large group. We also we get excellent feedback on our desserts and have been told that our creme brule is the best. The atmosphere is buzzing with an Italian pizzeria style. on busy nights and season booking is advised as we full up quickly especially if you would like roadside patio seating. Many locals enjoy dining here in windy conditions as the restaurant offers a wind free smoking courtyard and a covered patio. The courtyard and individual rooms make group bookings a perfect venue.
Caumont-sur-Durance
Level Contributor
223 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A convivial restaurant which offers interesting Italian cuisine”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

An Italian cuisine revisited, to offer the best of it. The lasagna with roasted lamb was tasty and copious, so was the Catarina salmon with gnocchi. The crème brulée was perfect. We had a nice dinner in this rustic Italian restaurant. The waiter was helpful and provided us with a very good and smiling service. Only regret, we waited a little bit longer than expected, but it was a Friday night, and the restaurant was full.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlainPieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant H, Owner at Bardelli's, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your comment and your business. We do get very busy sometimes and our small kitchen struggles when the restaurant is full. We do need to get more space at some stage.
Warm regards
G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    51
    19
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Best pizza ever”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This charming restaurant has the best pizza in Cape Town. The staff is friendly, and the house wine is excellent. The music is low and pleasant. For all kinds of people.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terje W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant H, Owner at Bardelli's, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments - we do make every effort to produce consistent food so it is always good to get positive feedback.
Warm regards

G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lucky find on Kloof St on a Sunday”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We visited this little restaurant because it was the first place that we found open on Kloof St on a Sunday. We weren't disappointed. The thin and crispy pizza was among the best I've had and my partners pasta was equally tasty with generous portion. The waitress was a Trainee but she did an excellent job and delivered good service. Would definitely recommend for casual dining.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant H, Owner at Bardelli's, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. It is very much appreciated.
Warm regards
G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Town”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Hidden away on Kloof St is this little slice of heaven (literally). Tasty large pizza's for a reasonable price. They'll even let you divide your pizza into 4 quarters of different pizza types.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ArchieFrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant H, Owner at Bardelli's, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you so much for the huge compliment. Your feedback goes a long way to keeping our staff motivated.
Warm regards
Grant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Where I am
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The servers were not particularly attentive but they more than made up for it with their friendliness. Another table knew to ask about specials. Apparently on Tuesdays it's two-for-one starters and desserts -- it pays to ask! Enjoyed the food and sadly, was too stuffed to be able to try any of the desserts. Lovely fire going (outside on the patio too) and loved the music. Although the mixture of jazz/big band/show tunes (think Judy Garland) seemed a little out of place in an Italian restaurant.
Would return and save room for dessert next time!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neferTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bardelli's also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Bardelli's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing