We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good italian”
Review of Bardelli's

Bardelli's
Ranked #187 of 1,155 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bardellis has been serving Italian styled food for 24 years in the suburbs of the Western Cape. The pizzas are described by many locals as the best in the Cape and the restaurant has been awarded best pizza on two occasions by public voting.Its common to hear world travelers regard Bardellis as the best pizza ever eaten. Always rated in the top pizza and the pasta is said to be a yardstick for Italian cuisine by some highly rated foodies. We serve only top quality ingredients, the fillet steak is a good example of the high food quality supplied. A small offering of seafood and meat dishes allows for some variety when in a large group. We also we get excellent feedback on our desserts and have been told that our creme brule is the best. The atmosphere is buzzing with an Italian pizzeria style. on busy nights and season booking is advised as we full up quickly especially if you would like roadside patio seating. Many locals enjoy dining here in windy conditions as the restaurant offers a wind free smoking courtyard and a covered patio. The courtyard and individual rooms make group bookings a perfect venue.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very good italian”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

we had a very good meal here.typical italian meals,pizzas cooked in a brick oven etc.the red wine we had was exceptional,the food delicous,and extremely good value.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank gordonh809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    52
    20
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality Italian”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I accidentally found this wonderful restaurant while walking on Kloof St. We liked that it was on a second level and away from the street noise. There is a balcony overlooking the street as well as two (or three?) indoor dining areas as well as a patio in the back near their wood fired stove. Each space has its own intimate quality in an air of rustic casualness. We were delightfully surprised by the superior quality of the pizza. The crust is as thin as we have seen with loads of fresh vegetables and meats of your choice on top. There is an unique green bean salad - a perfect compliment to the pizza. In contrast to a fellow reviewer, we found the service to be extraordinarily good. They were very friendly; even the owner came by to see that we had been taken care of properly and discuss the local beers. This is a great restaurant for families, students and couples. We liked it so much we returned once again during our brief visit to Cape Town.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank barbdau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent service and pizza”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

While on holiday in cape town we made a reservation at Bardelli's for an outside table. When we got there, the table next to ours was very noisy and the waiter pleasantly agreed to move us without any fuss.

The pizzas do take a little while to arrive, but they are excellent. They have a real authentic taste and a really thin crust that I am fond of. The service is friendly and have a homely feel. The restaurant is in what looks like a renovated house. Dim lights and the wooden floors create a good setting. They have a small courtyard which is great on calm Cape Town nights.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zaamissbowtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant H, Owner at Bardelli's, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do appreciate the feedback. Our food does take 20 minutes on average to come out. We are constantly looking for ways to get faster without compromising on our quality standards. The house is one of the oldest in our country and was built by early Dutch settlers. It still has many original aspects. It was also occupied by the first astronomer to the Cape who was accused of being a “peeping Tom” by the owner because of his equipment that was in a small room above the house.
Thanks again for noticing the little things.
Warm regards
Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“BIg disappointment”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Definitely do not order the calamari appetizer. It was the worst I have eaten anywhere. The pizza was pretty good and filled our tummies. There are many other places to eat in Cape Town so look for one of those.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray and Dottie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Looking for some food on a Sunday evening, alot of Cape Town restaurants seem to close, we found Bardelli's and looking like a nice place gave it a go.
The staff were very friendly and chatty and fancying some pizza/pasta this turned out to be the ideal place. Really nice food, great service and a good price. The Olympian pizza is recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonAndBethTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bardelli's also viewed

Kenilworth, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Bardelli's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing