We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sad”
Review of Bardelli's

Bardelli's
Ranked #180 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bardellis has been serving Italian styled food for 24 years in the suburbs of the Western Cape. The pizzas are described by many locals as the best in the Cape and the restaurant has been awarded best pizza on two occasions by public voting.Its common to hear world travelers regard Bardellis as the best pizza ever eaten. Always rated in the top pizza and the pasta is said to be a yardstick for Italian cuisine by some highly rated foodies. We serve only top quality ingredients, the fillet steak is a good example of the high food quality supplied. A small offering of seafood and meat dishes allows for some variety when in a large group. We also we get excellent feedback on our desserts and have been told that our creme brule is the best. The atmosphere is buzzing with an Italian pizzeria style. on busy nights and season booking is advised as we full up quickly especially if you would like roadside patio seating. Many locals enjoy dining here in windy conditions as the restaurant offers a wind free smoking courtyard and a covered patio. The courtyard and individual rooms make group bookings a perfect venue.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“sad”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

we had terrible service, she said she was new but I wish it was her last night. Abyssmal service but the pasta was good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank luckyme30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant H, Owner at Bardelli's, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to wright a review. I am unsure of which restaurant you ate at and who served you. What I can say is that sometimes we employ people who cannot deliver on what was promised at the interview. These staff are given a fair chance to improve and fit in to our quality culture.Often these individuals leave on there own.I am sorry that you had to experience bad service in our restaurant. We would love you to return and hopefully you would have noticed a marked improvement.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    51
    20
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Random choice for a light meal turned out well.”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were searching for a cosy restaurant to end our stay in Cape Town with a light meal. We walked by this restaurant and a peek inside made us go in. The waiter was a newbie, but a very friendly one. Although we had to wait little time before getting some drinks (waiting can be long when you're thirsty) the service turned out to be personal and adequate. The food (calzone and a regular pizza) were really nice! They had Thin crisp bottoms en were richly topped/filled. As we frequently visit restaurants in Italy and Italian restaurants at home, we can place this pizza's in the upper section of our list. After our visit we read this restaurant is part of a chain. We really couldn't tell and that's okay!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD & GREAT SERVICE!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Love Bardelli's! Great interesting pizzas, moreish pastas & friendly helpful staff all set up in a beautiful old house! Always a great night out!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SammyKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Bardelli's Pizza & Pasta Kenilworth”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Delicious Pizza and Pasta in Kenilworth in quaint house with separate dining areas plus a wonderful outside area. There is another branch in trendy Kloof Street in town.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PetHelJes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bardelli's , Kloof St , Cape Town”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stumble upon this little gem by accident one day. This is most gorgeous and intimate little pizza restaurant in the whole of Cape Town. They uses the freshest ingredients to create the most delicious pizza any one can ask for. Indeed the best wood-fire authentic pizza restaurant in the Western Cape.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pieterhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bardelli's also viewed

Kenilworth, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Bardelli's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing