We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view...average service and food”
Review of Jewel of India

Jewel of India
Ranked #340 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Cape Town
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great view...average service and food”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Despite the wonderful view of V&A waterfront and the amazing Table Mountain - this place has not much going for it. Slow service (2 drinks took 15 minutes on a quiet Monday evening); average food (Paneer Makhni, Corn and Mushroom curry - made for Western palate's or very lazy cooking; cold naan bread). GIve this place a miss - unless you really desperate for a curry. Bill for 2 including drinks R308 (about $35)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Prasidh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    33
    19
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic indian cuisine amidst a lovely setting”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have been frequenting this restuarant for years, and whilst there are cheaper options available in Cape Town (such as Eastern Food Bazaar in Darling Street Cape Town), Jewel of India at the V & A Waterfront never seems to fail. The food is authentic indian cuisine comprising of various meat, chicken, fish, veggie and rice options. I can truly say that I have never had a bad food experience in all the time that I've frequented the restuarant, whereas their competitors are not always up to standard. Apart from the high standard tasty foods, the restuarant is set in a lovely location overlooking the Waterfront harbour, and whilst the decor has remained pretty much the same over the last few years, its super clean and the service is always satisfactory. They allow reservations for big groups, so you are always guaranteed decent service and a great authentic indiancuisine experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoneTravellerCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Food But Below Par Service”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The food was good, with generous portions at a reasonable price. We had outside seating which gave us stunning views of the Waterfront. However, the service did not live up to the setting. We waited around 10-15 minutes after being seated until a waiter eventually asked us if we had been served already. Once we placed our order, we did receive our meals in good time, but only saw the waiter again when it was time to ask for the bill. The bill took ages to come & after that the waiter was again nowhere to be seen. After another 10-15 minute wait wanting to pay by card(in which time we could have walked away unoticed), we decided to get up and go to the payment terminal and ask another waiter to process the payment. I thought about complaining to management but that would've probably wasted even more time of what was a lovely day.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ebzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Food was hot and delicious. The service was excellent. The manager was professional and attentive. Place was clean. Attractive location right on V&A waterfront. Good value for money. Would definately return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MustTravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great food ... but not sure that's enough to want to return”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Four of us had dinner here (me for the first time) last week and thoroughly enjoyed the evening. However ..... while the view over the Waterfront is stunning (if you get a suitably placed table) and the food is excellent (we ordered a wide selection from really hot spicy prawns to non-curry vegetarian), the restaurant is awful in terms of decor (cheap and amateur), lighting (flat and bright) and service (slow and unskilled). The cost was about average for an average restaurant. I'd go back without hesitation if I craved Indian food but not likely to return for any other reason.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LesRuhrmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewel of India also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 

Been to Jewel of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing