We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food though limited choice”

The Deckhouse crab shack
Ranked #286 of 1,323 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Description: The Deckhouse Crabshack brings something new to the foodie scene in Cape Town – don your plastic bib, order up and get stuck in, there really is no other way to enjoy this kind of food. The menu mimics an American-style crab shack, where the portions are big, the flavours are bold and the atmosphere is convivial and unpretentious. Set in a well-known spot on Kloof Street, it has a lovely outdoor deck with views of Table Mountain. The decor is beachy and includes some cool touches like the sofas made from boat halves and whitewashed tables and chairs. It’s light, fresh and fun.
Restaurant details
Description: The Deckhouse Crabshack brings something new to the foodie scene in Cape Town – don your plastic bib, order up and get stuck in, there really is no other way to enjoy this kind of food. The menu mimics an American-style crab shack, where the portions are big, the flavours are bold and the atmosphere is convivial and unpretentious. Set in a well-known spot on Kloof Street, it has a lovely outdoor deck with views of Table Mountain. The decor is beachy and includes some cool touches like the sofas made from boat halves and whitewashed tables and chairs. It’s light, fresh and fun.
Reviewed February 3, 2019

The first thing we were told was they had no crab - not great given the restaurants name. However everything else was fine - particularly the hake and jambalaya. Service good and prices very reasonable.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank grastejoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 178 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2019

We have been to this restaurant twice last year and really enjoyed it. So we booked again with great anticipation. Beware they have new owners. Once we had ordered drinks they told us they had no crab - it was out of season. Poor excuse as it is imported frozen and is available in supermarkets. Usually restaurant was packed this time only a third full despite Saturday in peak season, but service very slow. Very limited menu but shrimp pops were on the starter menu and we got a big bowl of these for the four of us. Mains were prawns, a risotto or deep fried squid, fish, chicken wings definitely deep fried establishment. Had to leave half of main course as totally deep fried out. Doubt they will survive long as new owners have destroyed this restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnhW4953CL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2019

We went for dinner with people who have been before, the menu was very limited and they said they have no crab and haven't done for a while. We ordered the popcorn shrimp to start and they brought the popcorn fish, but they did correct this when we pointed it out and apologised. We ordered a 300 rand bottle of wine, when the waiter came back saying they didn't have that one he offered us another bottle, as he was about to open and pour it luckily someone asked which it was and it was 600+. We asked for another one or two off the menu which they didn't have. Seemed to have no stock.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2019

I phoned for a reservation to have lunch on a Saturday with my husband as we had bought a couple of vouchers online. I was told that the earliest I could get a reservation would be at 15h00. On arrival, the whole place was empty other than our table and three other all with couples. When asked the reasons for only taking us at 15:00 when we could see that the place wasn't busy and it has never been prior to our arrival according to info provided to us, we have asked the reasons for such rule. Company policy was the answer with no further explanation. When ordering our meals we made a choice out of what the restaurant was advertising, and again we were told that this or that was not part of the deal or there was none available so we decided to order without any complaints as we have accepted the girl's explanation on the choices available. Crab and Lobster our first choices was not available and not part of the menu for voucher customers. We have nevertheless enjoyed our meals. Since we bought two vouchers we decided to go to the restaurant the following Saturday to have lunch a bit earlier than offered previously, and guess what? On our arrival a different girl came to attend to us at the door and again sorry but we could only reserve a seat at earliest 15:00. When asking for the reasons, in view of the restaurant being only occupied by "flies" I mean empty, the same reasons as for the previous Saturday was the explanation. Me and my husband thought to ourselves what pathetic reasons and policy was this that did not make sense. Obviously we left and had to travel to Tygervalley for our lunch that we regularly do on Saturdays at the same restaurant "Hooked" excellent service, freshest fish and sea food and good value for money. We have then decided to get a refund for the 2nd voucher and hope never again to visit a restaurant with such discrimination and pathetic policy that does not absolutely make sense.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2018

Dined here one eve during short stay in CT.
Interesting menu - has the spicy crab.I was warned its messy - and it was!!
Good food and a great dining experience.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank GrahamM930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deckhouse crab shack also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Deckhouse crab shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing