We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special evening.”

Reverie Social Table
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $75
Description: Join the Social Table for a totally unique dining concept. An eclectic space to eat, drink and be merry with some fabulous company. Table d' Hote style eatery with a set 5 course dinner, paired with boutique wines from around the Western Cape. Perfect for the lone traveler, couple, friends and groups. It's a must try when visiting the Mother City! Booking essential, no children under the age of 14. Lunches are laid back and casual with a daily changing menu of fresh, simple dishes. No booking required for lunch.
Restaurant details
Description: Join the Social Table for a totally unique dining concept. An eclectic space to eat, drink and be merry with some fabulous company. Table d' Hote style eatery with a set 5 course dinner, paired with boutique wines from around the Western Cape. Perfect for the lone traveler, couple, friends and groups. It's a must try when visiting the Mother City! Booking essential, no children under the age of 14. Lunches are laid back and casual with a daily changing menu of fresh, simple dishes. No booking required for lunch.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

We were in Capetown for just two nights so I searched TripAdvisor for a special restaurant to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary and found Reverie Social Table. The concept of this restaurant is lovely with all 18 guests sitting at the one table where we were able to share stories and appreciate the wonderful food and wines together. You are met at the door and offered a pre dinner drink and introduced to other guests before sitting down to a five course decustation. Each course was explained to us and presented with a wine suited to that dish. I was expecting to meet some local people but most of the guests were international travelers which was interesting to hear experiences. We had a fun night with delicious food, wonderful local wines and perfect service.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank 54traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 244 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2019

Can highly recommend Reverie social table: Great concept, accommodating staff, food and drinks, atmosphere!

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jimmy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

To be honest, I've only ever been at lunchtime, but I gather the evening social tables are legendary. It's not open every lunchtime so check with them first, but if it is, the options are always delicious and the atmosphere friendly and relaxed. That one long table really does bring people together, even at lunchtime... and the sometimes over-friendly dog just adds to the atmosphere. NOT easy to find and certainly off the beaten foodie track but well worth the effort every time. Julia is a treasure and should be supported at all costs!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gwlg1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2019 via mobile

Ok, this was the highlight of our trip to CP so far. Chef Julia makes food with knowledge, style and a whole lot of love. Warmly welcomed by a smiling team and big glasses of wine, this social gathering went fast beyond the standard topics and questions. Such a great concept. We met some great people last night who we hope to see again on this trip. Thanks for a great memory - we hope to come back! Best regards, Rikke (Ricky Martin) and Robert from Norway

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank 115rikkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2019 via mobile

Wow, what a fantastic unusual way to dine. Julia chooses a winery and then builds her cuisine around the wine. She says, she can’t change the wine but can tweak her dishes, and does she do that. The flavor profile is extreme, coupled with texture and wine, you can only come back again and again. Restaurant is small with one table for maximum 20 people. So you share with who ever is there that night. A lot of international people, the number curiously out numbered locals. You walk through the kitchen to an open atrium for pre dinner drinks. There is no menu, but who needs one, the way Julia uses her wizardry, it will be stunning. Staff are excellent, ample glasses and interesting cutlery. A gem of a place, dinner will take up to three and half hours.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Roedig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reverie Social Table also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Reverie Social Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing