We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy accessible great brunch destination”
Review of Caffe Neo

Caffe Neo
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: A son of Cypriot immigrants, Michael Elias was exposed to authentic Greek and Cypriot cuisine throughout his life. With Mama no longer living in Cape Town, Michael wanted to recreate and share the memories of his childhood feasts with the coffee shop dwellers of Cape Town. Traditionally a family run business, Michael, his father Papou Aleko (90 years old) and sister Helen, work together to recreate the best deli style dishes for the Cape Town community.
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Busy accessible great brunch destination”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

CaffeNeo is on Beach Road opposite the Mouille Point lighthouse. The food always seems healthy and tasty. I have seldom been there when it is easy to find a table but we visit it every time we are in the City.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SouthAfricaConcerned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    51
    16
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Busy, busy”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Next time I will go later in the morning. It has a lovely location, good menu, but it gets terribly busy, then the service is erratic, not the waiters fault. Every one chatting and enjoying the food, can be very noisy, I will go back, but mid morning!

Helpful?
Thank Horse91dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home feeling!!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My favourite coffee spot in cape town,!!!and not because I sometimes get free coffee(hides)** I love this place, my home away from home.

I go to Caffeneo for the Chai latte, Their chai is the shizzy.. and of course Papu's mousaka, the vegetarian option. That with dolmades and his chickpea salads on the side,the portion is so huge you have to be a sumo wrestler to finish it , i usually just take my other half home as my supper. For a non Mousaka day, I have the Greek Lamb sandwhich topped with Tzatsiki and this i eat with my hands. one word.. Amazing!!

The vibe at this place is absolutely great, waiters are super friendly and Michael(the owner is always at the door ready to help you with your pram or your dog.. the waiters dont only remember your name, they remember your favourite meal and drink as well(hence the home factor) ..

The view is absolutely divine, see the beach and the lighthouse while you chill on the outside terrace and nibble on your cheese cake and coffee.

and the coolest thing ever is that you can actually bring your dog as well.. if that aint cool, then i dont know what is..

  • Visited October 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“busy”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

its always busy and always good. Internet is dreadfully slow, so those people at the table in the middle are there for coffee or a chat, not to download...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank luckyme30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“best hang out on the Atlantic coast”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Neo's is awesome just to chill or work or meet friends. I have regular business meetings there. They have free wireless but it can be a bit slow. Their croissants are pretty good and the coffee is good

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Capie_Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Neo also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Caffe Neo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing