We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Mojitos and Live music on Thursdays”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Mojito

Cafe Mojito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Bar, Caribbean, Cafe, International, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: This famous tropical Cuban/International restaurant and cocktail bar is popular with travelers and locals alike. Sip on a rum-soaked Mojito, order a traditional Cuban sandwich and while away the day, watching the colorful chaos that is Long Street.Established in 2003, Cafe Mojito is a friendly, reliable spot that serves up some of the tastiest burgers in the city. Open for lunch and dinner. The menu offers burgers, nachos, salads and a great Tapas selection for the not-so-hungry. Cocktail Happy Hour runs from 5pm -7pm and from 11pm till midnight - Monday to Sunday.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Mojitos and Live music on Thursdays”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

We came here for an evening after finding out the had live music on Thursdays and really enjoyed ourselves.

About 7 tables inside and 3-4 outside make this a cozy place, full of Che Guevara.

Solid Mojito for 48 rand and chips and dip for about the same. If we lived here we'd probably be here monthly at least.

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    58
    10
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Nice cool place, good mojito, very friendly owner, relaxed Cuban atmosphere. We ate tasty sandwiches

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bstreefk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The Every Evening Place”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The place, the staff, the live music, the crowd and the vibe - sums up this quaint drinking hole in the centre of Long Street. We spent our last 5 evenings in Cape Town at this place. Goes to show how much we loved it. The live band is entertaining, the tapas are delicious and the rates absolutely affordable - a perfect place for a chilled out holiday evening. The owner and the staff are happy helpful people who made us feel extremely welcome. One morning we had breakfast too and loved it. Great place for a weekend evening!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Croostix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My South American Holiday”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Heard so much about Cafe'Mojito- And decided to do dinner and drinks with friends.

The food, vibe, drinks are excellent! its got a very warm and welcoming atmosphere. Fabulous fire-place for relaxing with after dinner drinks and cigars.

The owner himself is a very warm, friendly gentleman , that made us feel like it was home away from home. We will definitely be joining in on The Monday raggae Night.


Awsomeness!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissJamaimah01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a vibe!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

After a few drinks and dinner at a lovely restaurant, we set out down Long Street looking for 'somewhere with live music and a vibe'...we hardly got two blocks before seeing a group of people spilling out on to the street, jiving, laughing and concentrated in the doorway of a small bar. As we got closer we heard an incredibly tight band playing fun, sexy Caribbean-style music. Upon further inspection they were a three piece consisting of a drummer, saxophonist and guitarist/vocalist. We managed to find a space on the busy dance floor and did not stop dancing until the band put down their instruments an hour later, after a hearty encore.
The bar itself definitely has a Cuban feel, the interior was simply yet effectively decorated and the staff were all attentive, friendly and accommodating.
The owner was charming, the mojitos were second to none and the band were fabulous. It is a pity we had already eaten (and by then it was so late) because we could happily have stayed for a meal after inspecting their menu.
Oh also... A few comments down somebody has left a review for the Mexican restaurant over the road... That is in relation to a different establishment but I can understand the confusion, however disregard it in relation to this bar/cafe.
We will be back in Cape Town soon and can't wait to dance the night away at Mojito again, what a great bar.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TootsMonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mojito also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Mojito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing