We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of 95 Keerom

95 Keerom
Ranked #150 of 1,155 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Hilton, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had organised to have a small wedding reception at another restaurant in Cape Town, but had to cancel due to the weather. We therefore booked a table for 20 people at 95 on Keerom with only a few days notice. They were very accommodating and super helpful. I asked if we could put flowers on the tables etc and they were happy to oblige.

The food was superb - it was the best beef fillet any of us had ever had, and the chocolate mousse was also amazing.

The setting inside the restaurant is also really beautiful.

Our day really could have been ruined because of having to change all the plans so last minute, but 95 Keerom really made up for it, and we were so happy that we'd ended up there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayley_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    158
    74
    29
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian fare in Cape Town”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I had dinner at 95 Keerom with three colleagues on a weekday night. Having lived in Italy, I tend to approach Italian restaurants in far-flung places with a degree of skepticism; however, it proved to be unjustified in this case. The plates we were served had a definite air of authenticity, although some menu items such as “filetto di struzzo (ostrich)” and “springbok alla casseruola” would hardly be featured in Milan or Bologna. Pasta dishes such as ravioli and gnocchi were well prepared and attractively presented, while an avocado salad with blue cheese, pear and walnut was very nicely done. (There was also an extensive assortment of carpaccio, which none of us chose to try.) The wine list was excellent, and the tiramisù – a make-or-break dessert item, in my opinion – was superb. Service, although a bit slow, was generally friendly and attentive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martymorell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have eaten at 95 Keerom a number of times over the past 8 years or so and always enjoyed it. After a break of about two years we went back recently and were bitterly disappointed. We were a table of 6 and there was not one of us who felt that the food justified the reputation - or the prices!
The lobster pasta was overcooked and stodgy, the grilled veal chop looked like it had been boiled rather than grilled and the rest of the food was just very mediocre. If one is looking for good Italian food in Cape Town there are much better restaurants at far more reasonable prices

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Italian Food”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The gnocchi dish was a little too rich for me, but still good. It was one of the heavier pastas I've ever eaten, actually. My husband's steak was perfect. I liked the atmosphere and our waitress was great.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice...”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Couldnt get into Test Kitchen so tried 95 Keerom as had heard some good things... arrived to a pretty casual welcome ("Oh they are here already.. just go upstaris you will see them").

It was hard to really fall in love with the place... but hard to find much fault. Service was fantastic from the waiter. A nice touch to have the chef come out and explain the menu. We had various carpaccios which were a bit bland. Mains had crayfish tagliatelle which was very good. Deserts shared chocolate fondants. Dont ever share them! Far too good. Wine list had some great value!

All in we were satisfied but not amazed. Decent value for money, but definitely not 5 star fine dining.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuperD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 95 Keerom also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to 95 Keerom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing