We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always delicious!!”
Review of Pigalle Restaurant

Pigalle Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 1,323 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $250 - $1,000
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Well-known as the perfect venue for a stylish evening out, we offer guests live entertainment from our dance floor alongside superb dinner courses. Renowned for our fresh seafood and Chalmar steak, our menu comprises of classic dishes with a subtle Portuguese flair. Including a spacious cigar lounge and private dining room our venue is versatile as well as suitable for private functions.
Reviewed March 20, 2019 via mobile

Eaten here dozens of times over the years since it’s inception and it remains my favorite restaurant in Cape Town for seafood and a night out listening to the wonderful live jazz. The prawns, lobster, calamari, sole and langoustines were all excellent and mouthwatering as usual.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank aroundtheworld247365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2019

pigalle restaurant comes very highly recommended for a full night out with great food and dancing. been here a number of times. once again the food was excellent from the starters to the mains. dessert was average though. anyway just as we wanted to start dancing the electricity went out. NOT load shedding though. only this restaurant. generator also not working apparently. VERY disappointed in the way management and the staff handled the situation. no communication with the patrons on what was happening. after about an hour of nothing we left after paying for our food on a handwritten bill which took the waiter literally 20 minutes to write out. at no stage did anyone speak to the patrons to keep us informed. quite disappointing considering we came for a full experience and only had good food. no dancing. really expected more from the management of this classy establishment.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wonita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019

The food, ambiance, band, host, staff.
Everything was awesome and totally enjoyable.
I just called them up and booked a table for our family. we were welcomed like royalty and the food was outstanding. They really went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank fiercelionessjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2019 via mobile

Some local residents recommended this for a romantic evening with good food. The service was excellent and the food (there is an emphasis on fish) superb-we had the mixed shellfish platter which was more than enough for two. Live jazz bands played excellently and we were able to get up and dance on the spacious dance floor whenever we wanted. This is just as much a family restaurant as a romantic one and the tables are set well apart so nothing is intrusive. Heartily recommended for anyone visiting Cape Town. Special thanks to the Maitre d who goes out of his way to make sure guests are well attended to at every point.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank 676russelld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019 via mobile

On a two-week visit to the incredible country of South Africa, we landed in Cape Town during week two.

Our first night in town, I did some research and discovered this gem of a restaurant and was mostly intrigued by the live jazz music they offered.

So after checking into the hotel, we made a quick jaunt over to Pigalle.

Hands-down this was one of the best dining experiences we have enjoyed anywhere! The jazz band was absolutely amazing, and I only typed by the top-notch service and incredible meal that we enjoyed.

My son had the lobster Thermidor, I had the traditional lobster, my sister had the shrimp. Their seafood was fresh, extremely well prepared, and came with a wonderful selection of wines and cocktails for the discriminating palate.

Our waiter‘s name, Pride, truly did noted the type of care that he took in assuring our entire experience was incredible.

We had such a great time, that we decided on a return flight from a trip to Victoria Falls that for last night and country we would return once again.

Our waiter on this night, Brain (you gotta love these names!), was just as thoughtful and took just as good care of us as we had come to expect on our first visit.

The food was just as succulent and enjoyable as our first meal, and if possible, the jazz band outdid themselves this evening.

We highly recommend a visit to Pigalle as a vital part of any trip to Cape Town!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pigalle Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Pigalle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing